Second game, new questions

computerarif

Mongoose
1.If my opponent has 3 shields left and I hit with 2 drones doing 4 damage each do i get 2 rolls on the critical hit tables?
2. When under power drain, you take fire only phasers, can federation still use its special ability on drones as to use them as a anti-drone?
3. Can another ship fire weapons to stop seeking weapons even when its not the target?
 
1) Not sure what you're asking. You'd take the 3 shield points off and then roll once on the Attack Table for each of the 5 hull hits that got through. Any criticals scored will increase the critical score in the affected area by 2 due to the devastating +1 trait.

2) Officially no.

3) Yes, but only by successfully performing the Intensify Defensive Fire ! Special Action.
 
"officially" if you do not use your drones, the ship counts as having the Anti-Drone Trait.

The ADD trait is not hindered by "Power Drain".

I would say that you can use them under power drain.
 
I thought Matthew said otherwise. Feel free to prove me wrong because I think that would be too much disadvantage to the Feds.
 
Matt may have said something somewhere, but the book says otherwise.

Neither the FAQ or the Errata say anything about this.
 
http://forum.mongoosepublishing.com/viewtopic.php?f=103&t=49677

Matt answered it there. Fed drone racks in ADD mode still count as a weapon system rather than a trait for the purposes of Power Drain.
 
Someone bring me a tribble. I want to test to see if Matthew isn't a Klingon in disguise. It looks to me that they have the best overall ships/fleet in the game, given the way some of the rules are written.
 
The problem with responses like this that don't appear in an FAQ/Errata is that they really don't hold much water in any sort of "official" way.

I understand tha Matt wrote the rules and I'm quite happy to play it that way now that I've seen the forum post, but I doubt people will be carrying a transcript of those forum posts to any tournaments much less with their gaming supplies.

Basically, the answer here is actually..."Officially" you can use them, but the writer of the rules says you cannot in a forum post.

Nothing in the rulebook or FAQ/Errata states anything that would make one think that you cannot use them under power drain.
 
Sgt_G said:
Someone bring me a tribble. I want to test to see if Matthew isn't a Klingon in disguise. It looks to me that they have the best overall ships/fleet in the game, given the way some of the rules are written.

Well I think his Klingon fleet is in the rulebook ;)

Matt does occassionaly make some "interesting" rulings that have caused issues before...........
 
deadshane said:
The problem with responses like this that don't appear in an FAQ/Errata is that they really don't hold much water in any sort of "official" way.

I understand tha Matt wrote the rules and I'm quite happy to play it that way now that I've seen the forum post, but I doubt people will be carrying a transcript of those forum posts to any tournaments much less with their gaming supplies.

Actually, I have been compiling a cut and paste list of his answers, available here:
http://travellerdocs.files.wordpress.com/2012/02/actasf-rulings-from-matt-sprange1.docx
Or older Word version:
http://travellerdocs.files.wordpres...ings-from-matt-sprange-alternate-version1.doc

Purely for my personal reference, but I don't know if people would accept them at a tournament. But being as I can't play the game yet (not enough minis yet to set up a demo/game), it's not a big deal at this point.
 
deadshane said:
Basically, the answer here is actually..."Officially" you can use them, but the writer of the rules says you cannot in a forum post.

Nothing in the rulebook or FAQ/Errata states anything that would make one think that you cannot use them under power drain.

This is a great interpretation of what I say on these forums :) I can tell you what I do in my games, but it perhaps should not be considered official until it appears in the FAQ.

My thinking on this current issue is that, under Power Drain, the Drone weapon system is offline - therefore it is not present to be turned into ADD. However, Deadshane makes a good point, and it is worth me going through the rulebook to see what it actually _says_ :)
 
billclo said:
deadshane said:
The problem with responses like this that don't appear in an FAQ/Errata is that they really don't hold much water in any sort of "official" way.

I understand tha Matt wrote the rules and I'm quite happy to play it that way now that I've seen the forum post, but I doubt people will be carrying a transcript of those forum posts to any tournaments much less with their gaming supplies.

Actually, I have been compiling a cut and paste list of his answers, available here:
http://travellerdocs.files.wordpress.com/2012/02/actasf-rulings-from-matt-sprange1.docx
Or older Word version:
http://travellerdocs.files.wordpres...ings-from-matt-sprange-alternate-version1.doc

Purely for my personal reference, but I don't know if people would accept them at a tournament. But being as I can't play the game yet (not enough minis yet to set up a demo/game), it's not a big deal at this point.

Decloaking. The bit about agile ships can make 90 degree turns.

Also decloaking the bit about the 6" move can be anywhere and is not affected by terrain unless the ship ends up in that terrain (jumping across the asteroids being the example). Others good word :lol:
 
Captain Jonah said:
Decloaking. The bit about agile ships can make 90 degree turns.

Also decloaking the bit about the 6" move can be anywhere and is not affected by terrain unless the ship ends up in that terrain (jumping across the asteroids being the example). Others good word :lol:

I looked around for official word from Matt on these, and basically found nothing. Can you point me to them and I'll add them to the list? Thanks.
 
Terminology is wrong there as damage points are the end result - but for every hit on the hull, yes you are rolling on the table.

So you roll AD (if required). For each successful attack you work out numbers of hits based on weapon stats. Then you see which hits are on shields and which go through. Roll for each hit on the hull to see the effect - apply damage.
 
Yeah you have to get your head round the multi-hit trait ;) I imagine this will indeed change your game alot.........
 
Example: You fire a 4AD of photons, a single line-item "weapon system" repesenting a bank of four photon tubes, at a target in the forward arc and range 5". You roll 1d6 for each of them, rolling all four dice at once, to "hit" the target. As the target is less than one-half max range 1/2 of 15" is 7.5"), the to-hit roll required in 4,5,6. Any "Natural 6" will by-pass shields and do internal damage. (Note: If the weapon is "Accurate", add +1 or +2 to the die roll, but only a "Natural 6" by-passes shields).

The dice come up 2,4,5,6. The "2" is a miss, so we can ignore that. The "6" by-passes the shields and goes internal, but we'll hold off on that for now. The "4" and "5" hit the shields. The Multihit-4 means you just did 8 points of sheild damage. As the target's shields were at 5 due to previous damage, the target marks off the last five boxes and the extra 3 points goes internal. Now you add in 4 points for the photon that rolled a "6", for a total of 7 points internal.

You then roll 7d6 on the Attack Table on page 7 to see what the damage was. Every "1" does nothing, but the rest do one point of damage to the damage track. Every "6" does a point of damage -and- rolls a d6 on the Critial Hits Systems Table on page 8. (Note: If the weapon is "Precise", add +1 to the die roll, so any "1" does damage, and any roll of "5" or "6" is a critical hit.)

You rolled 1,1,2,3,3,5,6 and thus did five points of damage plus one critial hit. Next, roll one d6 on the Systems Table. You rolled a "5" which is a Crew hit. Because phtons are "Devistating +1", the this becomes a Level 2 critical. The target loses one Marine for the Level 1 critial, and two more for the Level 2 critical. Additionally, the ship takes another point of damage on the damage track. That critical hit is marked "Escalate", so at the end of the game-turn, the taget must attempt to stop the cascade damage.
 
Back
Top