runequest newbie here

nebulous

Mongoose
hey everybody. i used to have a lot of the old Runequest stuff years back, but sold it :cry: Actually, i didn't use it a whole lot and transitioned back to 2nd edition D&D.

Anyways, i'm looking forward to this. I'm tired of the 3.x spell system and REALLY want something new, innovative, that puts the fun and mystery back into magic.

How did magic work in the old system, and do you think they're changing it much?

It seems like there isn't a master HP rating, so i also wonder how that's going to pan out. Mutants and Masterminds and True 20 use a Damage Save system, but i don't know if RQ even has a save mechanic.

Sorry if this is rehashed old questions. :oops:

nebulous said:
How did magic work in the old system, and do you think they're changing it much?
That's difficult to answer. By RQ3 there were four (five, if you count Dragonewt magic) magic systems, each of which worked completely differently. This is certainly far removed from D&D where magic is essentially the same for all classes, and only the spells are different.

Battle Magic/Spirit Magic/the new Rune Magic was the lower-powered "utility" stuff, which most everyone powered themselves up on before combat.

Rune Magic/Divine Magic was specific to each cult, so if you were a member of an Earth cult you only got earth-based spells.

Sorcery was a mess. Forget about that.

Ritual magic was entirely designed around the Ceremony/Enchant/Summon skills. Ceremony made the chance of success higher, Enchant was for creating magic items, and Summon was for - well - summoning.

Oh, pish posh! Sorcery was great and allowed you to do some amazing things. As long as the player had some advanced math skills, and your character didn't mind actually having most of his abilities tied up in external items and such, you could do all sorts of fascinating magic ;)