Ramming question

Yacoff

Mongoose
If you attempt to ram an opponent, and do make contact, but fail either of the rolls needed to pull it off can you stop your ship there and fire at it in the next phase?

Intuitively it seems that you shouldn'd be able to. Perhaps you should then have to move past them and use your rear arc if you have one. I am playing the Drazi in my next game, and became curious. I would like to plough a ship into a Primus.

Thanks,
-Yacoff
 
It depends on which roll you fail:

The initial QC check to perform the ram is attempted before you move. If you fail this roll the ship does not even attempt to ram and moves normally and may fire normally etc. It is not on a special order as with any other failed special order QC check.

If you pass this check but then fail the opposed QC check to HIT your opponent that is another matter entirely. You are still on ramming speed orders (you DO stop in contact with the enemy but whether you actually succeed in hitting them or not you are still on 'Give me ramming speed' and cannot fire.
 
Your response seems sound, but I fail to find a rule to back it up in the book. If you fail the roll it says that you miss the ship, but it does not say that you may not fire when under the conditions of 'give me ramming speed.' Is there an errata that I missed?

-Yacoff
 
I don't recall not being able to fire anywhere but i don't have my rulebook handy ( within 100km of me ). I've never seen it come up probably because the ship gets finished off before it can fire or it's a Vorchan/Strikehawk type ship and has nothing to fire at.
 
ah I hadnt actually got the rulebook to hand so not 100% sure what the restrictions are but simply put, if you miss the target after passing the initial special order check then you are still on 'Give Me Ramming Speed' and subject to all the restrictions stated in the rules, if it doesnt say you cant fire though then you of course still can!
 
The Scariest ram i've ever seen is when a T'Loth rammed my Centauri Colony. That was a scary amount of damage.
 
Locutus9956 said:
ah I hadnt actually got the rulebook to hand so not 100% sure what the restrictions are but simply put, if you miss the target after passing the initial special order check then you are still on 'Give Me Ramming Speed' and subject to all the restrictions stated in the rules, if it doesnt say you cant fire though then you of course still can!

Don't have the rulebook at hand but that situation has come up in a few of our games vs. Minbari (ram those stealth ships!) - I don't believe we found any "you can't fire" restrictions...
 
Thanks for the replies guys.

It did not seem intuitive that you could still fire, so I wanted to make sure.

-Yacoff
 
Hash said:
Don't have the rulebook at hand but that situation has come up in a few of our games vs. Minbari (ram those stealth ships!) - I don't believe we found any "you can't fire" restrictions...

Don't the ship need to be crippled to attempt that action ? ( if a ship is crippled ... )
 
Back
Top