Planetary Assult Question...

Cuthalion

Mongoose
...in the rules it states that fighters may assult troops or dog-fight when within the atmosphere and that ships with the "Atmospheric" trait may attack enemy troops, land or leave the atmosphere, but my questions are 1...may fighters be allowed to attack ships within the atmosphere and 2... if two ships on opossing sides, both within the atmosphere, may one attack the other?

:D
 
thats why im asking the questions.. it seems stange to me that a flight of fighters may attack another fast moving flight within the atmosphere but may not attack a slow moving capital ship thats about to land.
 
Scheel said:
I see no rules that say you can't so I would say the answer is "Yes" my self.

Scheel

but neither do the rules say you may. so do players follow the rules to the letter and their for assume that a ship within the atmosphere is untouchable?? if we do the correct fleet selection in the Planetary Assult and Planetfall scenarios will deam these games unwinable...
 
But if you follow the rules to the letter, you can shoot at it. The only exclusion to shooting at a target is it if it is the other side of stellar debris. With one further limitation - if the target is on a planet, it can only be shot at from orbit or within the atmosphere.

Targets in the atmosphere are not excluded in any way.
 
I'd say if the book says you can....you can.
If it say's you can't....you can't.
And if it doesn't say either way.....then you most likely can and the possibility either was over looked by the writer or it's just common sense (and anyway when has the ACTA rule system EVER not been a little ambiguous......Sorry Matt).
 
Funbeast said:
(and anyway when has the ACTA rule system EVER not been a little ambiguous......Sorry Matt).
It has very frequently not been a little ambiguous. It has often been very ambiguous!
 
also under the victory conditions in the Planetary Assult rules it states that if the attacker has troops on the planet and the defender does not the attacker wins, and that if the defender has troops on the planet and no emplacements its a draw, but do we assume that if neither side has troops on the planet in the end phase on turn 12 that this is also a draw, as niether side is in control of the planet.
 
Back
Top