Other Duties

KennyBoy

Mongoose
Now, i'm going to assume that I can't do this, but it's got to be worth a punt... 8)
My Minbari fleet has a number of battles in the same campaign turn; after the first battle was won, I rolled Refits and Other Duties for the ships that had triumphed...
As most results apply to the ship itself or the next campaign turn, then its straight-forward. However, rolling Minbari Protectorate Volunteers, it states:
"You may immediately add a wing of Nials or Flyers to your fleet roster"

Now, as I have 3 more battles to fight this turn - using the remaining ships on my fleet roster - can this new flight be included in one of those battles :?:
Like I said, i'm expecting a resounding NO, but thought i'd get some feedback on this... 8)
 
Don't see why not: immediately means immediately in my book. If it meant the next turn it would say the next turn, like the others!
 
don't see why you would think you can't. the flight isn't attached to an individual ship that has already fought, and immediatly means, well, immediately really.
 
Well, coolio! :D

However, I think i'll get Greg's take on things also, they will be fighting against him if I can use them... 8)
 
As it says immediately I would say you could do that.

I know, I know the others will shot me for saying this as it gives you some fighters to play with.
 
Though Ken it would mean more points for Greg to kill as they are added to the fleet roster and not to the hangars of a ship. :twisted:
 
The Ship Experience phase comes after the Fight Battle phase. I would argue that you can't spend that XP until after all the battles are fought. The description of the Fight Battle phase supports this as well--"This [strategic target] is immediately added to his fleet roster and my be used in later phases of the same turn" and "once all battles have been fought and won, it is time for the victor to enjoy the spoils".
 
Harry Lonsdale said:
The Ship Experience phase comes after the Fight Battle phase. I would argue that you can't spend that XP until after all the battles are fought. The description of the Fight Battle phase supports this as well--"This [strategic target] is immediately added to his fleet roster and my be used in later phases of the same turn" and "once all battles have been fought and won, it is time for the victor to enjoy the spoils".

That would be my interpretation as well. You can add them as soon as you get the other duty but you dont spend xp on refits etc till after all battles are fought.

As an aside, @Burger: Is that sarcasm regarding the flyers or are you serious? Personally I would actually consider taking the fliers simply because you get more of them in an independant wing and theyre actually useful for asists/ getting in the way of AF guns etc (as long as youve got some Nials anyway to get the +3 to dogfight to begin with (or better yet Tishats)
 
That's a fair point from our American cousin, should all Refits and Other Duties wait until the very end of the turn, with repairs etc?
To me, the fact that all 4 battles are not taking place at the same time, (fine, its the same Turn, but how long is a turn supposed to represent?) then these brave fighter jocks have turned up to join the fleet within that period of time... so, who's to say that the Minbari Alyt doesn't just assign them to one of the groups that have yet to fight... :?
 
Keeping to the letter of the rules, in the campaign turn, Fight Battles takes place before Ship Experience which is when other duties are rolled. And the rule states, 'campaigns have turns that are devided into phases, each of which must be played out before the next can begin.'

So strictly, they can't be used this turn.
 
Well, there you have it... I was awaiting the Gregster's opinion (he's already had his one mistake for this year, so I knew his verdict would be correct) and he's backed up by the rules... so a resounding NO! :wink:
 
hiffano said:
ooh Gregs running scared and resorting to rules ;-)

Yep. I might have said, 'oh go ahead', but one of our players insisted on the rules as written earlier in the campaign. And what's sauce for the goose...
 
Greg Smith said:
hiffano said:
ooh Gregs running scared and resorting to rules ;-)

Yep. I might have said, 'oh go ahead', but one of our players insisted on the rules as written earlier in the campaign. And what's sauce for the goose...

fair enough, but you know your black omegas would have mauled them!!
 
Gregs not Psi Corps in this Campaign - he is Third Age..........

Crusade have just been anihilated by the Minbari and their dice of doom - ironic cos the same happened to my Shadows from that players Vorlons last campaign!

Still left are the ISA (recovering well) battered Drazi /Vree/Abbai Alliaince and the the strong Brakir/Vree/Drazi alliance - although both have recently invested in Takatas........... :D
 
Back
Top