new B5 player looking for help

scythewing

Mongoose
Hello I’m just getting into b5 a call to arms. I’m a huge fan of space combat games and never got a chance to get into this one. I have the rule book on its way to me at the moment but was wondering if someone would be able to give me a good sample fleet to learn the ins and outs of the game. The fleets I’m leaning towards is ISA is the main one the Centauri I like a lot and the Vree and Drazi from the non-aligned worlds.

I have been seeing that the Centauri seems to be a very popular fleet I was just wondering why? Not to mention wondering if anyone could give me some positives or negatives for the fleets of ISA, Centauri, Vree, Drazi. Thanks for the help in advance and can’t wait to get playing.

Greetings,

I'm a junior player too, but I'll throw in my two cents for what it's worth.

The Centauri are well balanced due to the number of ships they have to choose from. One thing I like about them is the Specials for the weapons. The Centauri like their toys. A down side would be that they can have fewer weapons per ship than other races. Though while the potency of the weapons can make up for this it can be a factor when dealing with critical hits.

The Vree are fragile, but they pack a punch, have some ships with good range, and their super maneuverable ability is very handy. Also, their Turret weapons make positioning for a kill easier but there is a risk of loosing all your weapons with one crit.

White Stars can be a pain in the neck to kill and the ISA's ability to include League ships means that you will have a lot of flexibility with your fleet build and the ability to keep your opponents guessing.

I do not know much about the Drazi, but the looks of their fleet list make it look like they would be harder to use due to the great number of bore weapons.