NA Rules Query:Boardings with multiple sides and troop types

It occurs to me - the rules don't say Marauders are 2 Dice Per Marauder - the rules say that they lose half as many dice (rounding down).

It could easily be argued (and I'll probably house rule it) that the player losing Dice allocates them to the Marauders Group or to the Normal Troops Group rather than to individual Marauders and Troops (with the caveat that you cannot allocate more dice than a group is able to lose).

In LBH's example of 3 Marauders and 2 normal Troops, when I allocate 3 of those dice to my Marauders, I don't say "This hit goes to Marauder 1, this hit to Marauder 2 ... " I say, "These three Hits to go my Marauders, so I lose one."

That way, Marauders are (IMHO) better balanced. They're still a force to be reckoned with, but they're not unstoppable juggernauts that are a Must-Have. It also means that the Hazat Galliot (which holds 10 Troops) isn't an unstoppable juggernaut. Because there is no way you can stop ten Marauders without either using the S&P Troops or having Ten Marauders yourself.

It also means the "rounding down" reference in the rules makes sense. (Page 16, again, BTW).
 
Yup Gamethyme, I think that's fair, I think you can decide how many dice to assign to each type of troop, but not assign individual dice to individual troops.

I think you, Greg, Katadder and I are all in agreement with that.

So in my example, I would allocate 3 dice to Marauders and 1 dice to normal Troops, minimising losses at 2 troops whilst maximising damage soaks for the next turn.

LBH
 
Gamethyme said:
In LBH's example of 3 Marauders and 2 normal Troops, when I allocate 3 of those dice to my Marauders, I don't say "This hit goes to Marauder 1, this hit to Marauder 2 ... " I say, "These three Hits to go my Marauders, so I lose one."

Yes, that's what I meant to say! Serves me right for answering rules questions over the weekend!
 
msprange said:
Gamethyme said:
In LBH's example of 3 Marauders and 2 normal Troops, when I allocate 3 of those dice to my Marauders, I don't say "This hit goes to Marauder 1, this hit to Marauder 2 ... " I say, "These three Hits to go my Marauders, so I lose one."

Yes, that's what I meant to say! Serves me right for answering rules questions over the weekend!

That makes more sense, we are now all in agreement.

LBH
 
Just thought of one more clarification

Matthew,

Thanks for chiming in on the thread, I have one more question.

If a ship with Troops and Marauders, takes a Crew crit and thus loses one troop, presumably the owner of the troops gets to pick which type he loses.

In the event of a Crew Troop loss crit on a Marauder populated ship, does he still lose a whole Marauder troop, or do they take two Crew loss hits to kill as well as two dice?

Thanks

LBH
 
msprange said:
Gamethyme said:
In LBH's example of 3 Marauders and 2 normal Troops, when I allocate 3 of those dice to my Marauders, I don't say "This hit goes to Marauder 1, this hit to Marauder 2 ... " I say, "These three Hits to go my Marauders, so I lose one."

Yes, that's what I meant to say! Serves me right for answering rules questions over the weekend!

Sweet, that's how I figured it worked. Glad to see that clarified :)

lastbesthope said:
If a ship with Troops and Marauders, takes a Crew crit and thus loses one troop, presumably the owner of the troops gets to pick which type he loses.

In the event of a Crew Troop loss crit on a Marauder populated ship, does he still lose a whole Marauder troop, or do they take two Crew loss hits to kill as well as two dice?

The manual says:

TFM said:
Marauders: Gain a +2 bonus to their dice rolls and will lose half as many Troops Dice (rounding down) when attacked, be it from
boarding, gatling lasers or critical hits.

So, I'm pretty sure it'd take 2 crew loss to remove a marauder.
 
kaltorak18 said:
The manual says:

TFM said:
Marauders: Gain a +2 bonus to their dice rolls and will lose half as many Troops Dice (rounding down) when attacked, be it from
boarding, gatling lasers or critical hits.

So, I'm pretty sure it'd take 2 crew loss to remove a marauder.

Quite right kaltorak, I really need to get round to reading the rules more. Too busy painting my minis right now.

:oops:

Thanks

LBH
 
Back
Top