DamonJynx said:
Unless the charging creature willingly stops or is forcibly
stopped dead, the charge only allows a single Combat Action
for the Attacker, their mount (if combat capable) and the
Defender during that round, because the speed of the charging
creature carries it clear of the engagement zone.
I think this is a very important point to remember.
In most fights, where a PC is charging an opponent (unmounted), the intent is to stop when in melee range and belt the proverbial out of the opponent!
Taking this into consideration makes charging a lot less complicated. Lets look at Bert and Alf again assuming Bert has a higher SR than Alf, remebering this all takes place in 1 block of 5 seconds:
CA1 Bert declares charge starts moving. This takes up CA2 and CA3
CA1 Alf, loads bow
CA2 Alf fires bow, Bert having seen Alf shoot at his mates is charging with his shield up and gets cover - he does not 'parry'.
CA3 Alf drops his bow and sets his spear to accept the charge
CA4 Bert gets into range and makes his attack - *EDIT* resolve the attacks. The combatant with the longest reach going first.
Remember, the rules are their to guide your game. Where there is an apparent contradiction, use your common sense.
We're slowly learning the rules in our group playign Clockwork and Chivalry, and adding stuff little by little. Such things as fatigue, and most recently charging. So this rule came up in our game for the first time last night. The way we read it, the above would not be legit? Because the rule clearlyt states two things:
1) the defender can decide to either stand firm (and attack the charger) or flee (using evade).
2) Both the charger (& his horse, if any) and the defender are only allowed to use one CA in the whole turn (either to attack or flee, as we understood it?)
So the defender wouldn't be able to use that many CA for a start? If I am incorrect, please indicate where it says otherwise (newbie GM, not trying to be snotty here :wink: ). So in effect, when someone declares a charge, he effective removes himself and his target from the regular turn procedure, as both of them are locked in the one CA charge procedure?
This in turn raised several other questions, especially in regard to missile fire and the above mentioned parrying. There were several instances where our target of a charge was using black powder weapons, and I ruled that they could either stand firm and shoot before the charger hit them (as their 'reach' would be longer with a missile weapon), or they could evade. Which ever they chose, that would be the only action for that turn.
Then again we had also a couple of instances where the defender had a sword and a pistol. So in this case they would have the capability to both shoot and/or hack with their sword at the attacker. So my thinking would be to allow either sword or pistol attack, or perhaps even both? They are trained in pistol and sword style, so that would maybe make sense?
But this also brings up the issue of parrying, is parry even allowed at all? Because the rules do not mention it specifically, but they do say one CA and then seem to imply either an attack or evade?
My thinking would be allow parry, but this would replace either the attack or the evade roll. After all, parry and evade are treated pretty much equally in the rules generally. And if you have two weapons (or shield and a weapon) maybe allow a parry and attack? From the defenders point of view, if you have a, say, spear and shield, the common sense response to a charge is to raise the shield to protects yourself and soak the impact, and also hold the spear towards the enemy to try to score a hit etc.?
EDIT: also, I would disagree with this:
DamonJynx said:
In most fights, where a PC is charging an opponent (unmounted), the intent is to stop when in melee range and belt the proverbial out of the opponent!
I don't see how this can be the case. Isn't the whole purpose of charging to combine your mass and speed into the pointy end of your weapon, therefore using your impetus to crash into the enemy (and preferably through him?). Starting braking when you enter the melee range would completely nullify the benefit of a charge, simply making it a handy super movement (breaking the 8 meters rule) into melee?
EDIT2: Ok, I realise that a lot hinges on that brief mention "...charging creature
willingly stops or is forcibly stopped dead". Willingly stops, that bit I find difficult. If that is indeed allowed, AND you can then use more of your CA on the charge turn, doesn't that completely nullify any disadvantage of Charging, and allow multiple actions and huge movement too? This seems odd and conflicting to me?
Would willingly stopping a charge actually mean that the charge is aborted before it hits the opponent? Because if it doesn't, then it seems to me the whole point of charging defeated, and the multiple points concerning charge become pretty moot.