MC-Artillery-Example-Question on P. 23

KaiserFranz

Mongoose
Hi Group,

I'm confused with the Example on P.23 of the "Modern Combat"-Rulebook:

>>A British L55 rolls its „D10+5 DD“ against
>> a Target within the „Fire Zone“ as normal.
Q1: It should read "All Targets within the FZ", isn't it?
Q2: How large is this FZ in Inches?

>>Additional DD are rolled within 2“ of the 1st Target.
Q3: Which Dices within 2"?

Greets Franz
 
actually there two kinds of 'area effect' weapons work... one is for artillery the other is for 'straight' shot weapon.
For artillery, you resolve all scattering, after you determine the location, measure the area effect from that location and resolve the damage per model within those area.
for straight shot, first resolve all damage dice, remove natural 1, and then place all dice within fire zone, resolve any re-roll damage from accurate (optional), and then resolve the area effect weapon (this is done by you 2nd question, if the area effect weapon hit a model, then you roll additional damage dice on models within area effect , removing natural 1 of course :p )
 
Ali the conqueror said:
actually there two kinds of 'area effect' weapons work... one is for artillery the other is for 'straight' shot weapon.

Dear Ali,

thanks for the answer - but that didn't answer my 3 questions.
Could you please post replies to my questions respectively?

Greets Franz
 
Let me try...
(But bear in mind the official answers can only come from Mongoose Matt!)

1 - No! :!: Page 13 and 14 is the Meta-rule. The rule above all others for shooting. So you allocate the Damage Dice following the rules for shooting, after that you roll the weapons Damage Dice against every other model that is within the Lethal Zone.
2 - Read Page 13 and 14 of the rulebook again - FZ is always 3", except for Auto weapons (6").
3 - Following the example a D10+5 is rolled against every model within 2" of the first target.

Maybe read the Lethal Zone trait on page 23 again with the above info in mind, it should make sense now! :wink:
 
Agis said:
1 - No! So you allocate the Damage Dice following the rules for shooting, after that you roll the weapons Damage Dice against every other model that is within the Lethal Zone.
2 - FZ is always 3", except for Auto weapons (6").
3 - Following the example a D10+5 is rolled against every model within 2" of the first target.

Dear Agis,
thanks - I think I'm getting it right now.

So again, to be sure I got it right, here is "Example 1" (MC, Page 102, "Mortar Strike", "Damage: 2*D6", LethalZone/3"):
2*D6 against every Model within 3" Radius of the 1st Target.

"Example 2": Single .50 MG (MC, Page 72, "M2 .50 MG", 2*D6+1, Auto), firing NOT Prone:
"Generating" 2 D6, each with a "+1"-Bonus, which must be distributed to the closest TWO Targets within 6" Radius of the Centre of the "Fire Zone" (so that each of the 2 Models receives a "+1 modified" D6)

Example 1 & 2 correst?

Greets Franz
 
Yes to both.
In the second example your allocating the highest roll to the closest model, then the next highest etc.
 
Agis said:
Yes to both.
In the second example your allocating the highest roll to the closest model, then the next highest etc.

Phew, great!

Last Question to "Example 1": Are the 2 D6 added together and checked vs. Target-/Kill-Score or are the 2 D6 rolled separately?
 
KaiserFranz said:
Last Question to "Example 1": Are the 2 D6 added together and checked vs. Target-/Kill-Score or are the 2 D6 rolled separately?

Please read Page 2/3 of the MC rulebook: Rolling Dice!
The 3rd paragraph on page 3 says exactly what you want to know! :)
 
Agis said:
KaiserFranz said:
Last Question to "Example 1": Are the 2 D6 added together and checked vs. Target-/Kill-Score or are the 2 D6 rolled separately?

Please read Page 2/3 of the MC rulebook: Rolling Dice!
The 3rd paragraph on page 3 says exactly what you want to know! :)

*Blush, err* You are right, there it is: 2 separate Rolls + modifier each
 
Back
Top