Long Lance Torpedo Question

Leadman

Mongoose
The rules state "If they do this, however, The attack will be made in the next End Phase, with the Torpedo Counter moving with the ship if necessary." In my local group, we have taken this to mean the next end phase which is immediately after the firing phase that the torpedoes were launched in. In reading some of the forum posts, it seems that many are waiting another whole turn before resolving the long range torpedo attacks. Which end phase is correct?

Thanks,
Dannie
 
It means the end phase of the next turn. If it were the end phase of the current turn, then it wouldn't be any different from normal torpedoes.
 
Burger said:
It means the end phase of the next turn. If it were the end phase of the current turn, then it wouldn't be any different from normal torpedoes.

Not exactly. Torpedo fire at short range would be resolved as soon as it is fired, with the results taking place immediately. The target ship may be sunk before it has an opportunity to fire. Long range fire resolved in firing turn's end phase would occur after all other firing giving the target ship an opportunity to fire as well. Long range fire resolved in the next turn's end phase would give the target two firings before being impacted by the torpedo hits. To us, it seemed a little extreme to give the target two chances to fire if the range is greater than 10 and possibly no chances to fire if the range is 10 or less. I can see it going either way. Just wonder what the author's intent was.

Dannie
 
Leadman said:
Burger said:
It means the end phase of the next turn. If it were the end phase of the current turn, then it wouldn't be any different from normal torpedoes.

Not exactly. Torpedo fire at short range would be resolved as soon as it is fired, with the results taking place immediately. The target ship may be sunk before it has an opportunity to fire. Long range fire resolved in firing turn's end phase would occur after all other firing giving the target ship an opportunity to fire as well. Long range fire resolved in the next turn's end phase would give the target two firings before being impacted by the torpedo hits. To us, it seemed a little extreme to give the target two chances to fire if the range is greater than 10 and possibly no chances to fire if the range is 10 or less. I can see it going either way. Just wonder what the author's intent was.

Dannie

Torpedos are fired during a ship's activation, but the AD and DD aren't resoved until the end of the turn. Torpedo fire isn't resolved like main gun fire. It has some 'travel time'. So, a normal torpedo would be fired on the ship's activation, but resolved in the end phase of that turn. A torpedo fired at >10" would be resolved in the following turn's end phase.

BS
 
Back
Top