Linked targeting question

Banichi

Cosmic Mongoose
Just reading the new admiral rules and came across linked targeting. It says this skill can be applyed to one weapon system. Does this mean that if you took an apollo was your highest level ship you could attack an enemy with both broadsides at once? Once with arc the enemy ship is in, then again with the other side that is facing in the opposite direction, as it says "or the weapons are in a different arc to the enemy target." Sounds kind of nasty. Or do I just need to go and trim my beard :lol:
 
Actually, no. The exact wording says that your ship must not be able to see the target.
This means that he can attack an enemy ship with missiles or torpedoes from one weapon system that can be seen by another ship in his fleet but not by his own
So if one side fires, the other can't. I guess if you don't fire the side that is in arc, you can fire the one that isn't! So maybe if you have 2 targets in one arc it might work. But not at the same target.
 
Burger said:
This means that he can attack an enemy ship with missiles or torpedoes from one weapon system that can be seen by another ship in his fleet but not by his own

But what about on the next line were it says "if the admirals ship is behind an asteroid field, for example, or the weapons are in a different arc to the enemy target" It kinda says both, or am I muddling things up.
 
If you don't have weapons in arc then it would count as can't be seen... that is my way of explaining the contradiction, anyway ;)
Sounds like a question for Rulesmasters.
 
Funny thing is I don't have any missle boats in my ea 3rd age fleet (well, not counting the warlock) I was just reading over the rules and thought eek, that sounds nasty. Actually I don't think there is a single apollo in the country, unless Target and his group have one down in the south island.
 
The rule would mean you could fire one broadside at a target using the normal rules and the other side to hit a different target out of LOS.
 
based on how I read it so long as the ship you are using to target with has line of sight to the target & the ship you are using to fire with does not have line of sight but is in range to target ship then yes you could use both broadsides against the target.
This is really rather limited though since there is not alot of opportunities where you would not have line of sight to be able to use borth broadsides against a single target - you would more likely have line of sight in my experience
 
daishi said:
based on how I read it so long as the ship you are using to target with has line of sight to the target & the ship you are using to fire with does not have line of sight but is in range to target ship then yes you could use both broadsides against the target.
If it doesn't have line of sight how can you use both broadsides?m It says only one weapons system can be affected.
 
The point is I think its a little unclear from the wording but its meant to allow you to fire a WEAPON that doesnt have line of sight rathe than a ship, so you could fire a broadside normally and use the rule to allow you to fire the other broadside, which is out of arc and thus has no LOS. Would like to know this one tbh for sure though as it strikes me as one of the few times an admiral might JUST justify his cost....
 
Good Good, we shall wait and see what the powers that be say then.. my faith in them is a little restored now theyve fixed the FAQ :P

In all honesty, seems fair that you could do so for effectivelly upping that Apollo to War. Frankly though I dont see why anyone would do that over, well, buying a second Apollo? That said it would be MUCH more useful to allow that apollo to hid behind an asteroid field or something and pump out missiles.....
 
Upon re-reading rule after what Burger says I have to agree with him. It specifically states the Admirals ship must not have LOS to target ship & also states may fire one weapon system either missles or torpedoes at the target ship so I now believe you can NOT hit the one ship with both broadsides.

You could argue though that if you had 2 target ships & 2 ships providing targeting info you could fire one weapon system at each of them eg. 1 port at one target & 1 starboard at the other target although it might be stretching the intention of the rule but it is slightly ambiguous
 
Burger said:
Yep same here, that hyperspace thing had me very worried!

I had this unpleasant image of loads of Whitestars or Demos etc juming in behind me on turn one and alpha striking my flagship.... That said it was quite a nice image when I thought about it from the perspective of MY Whitestars/Demos etc jumping behind the enemy flagship... :twisted:
 
It's been answered - only the weapon system mustn't have LoS to the target, not the ship as a whole. This means you can double your fire from an apollo with it ;)
 
So the best use of your admiral's apollo would be cruising the lenght of the table pounding one ship at a time. It would make it a "must kill" ship in the enemies fleet.
 
Yes, but would draw major resources away from pounding the rest of your fleet and free them up to fly around and harass their ships. Besides, can you imagine getting in close and unleashing a 16 AD attack with heavy missiles. OUCH! :shock:
 
Back
Top