Learning as playing

Mr Evil

Mongoose
have you found you played a few bit wrong while learning the game ?

i found out today i overlooked a reasonable biggy


::::::::obscured line of sight only effects target score not kill score !!!!

been plaing it slightly wrong till then any body else miss that or just me ? ::::::::::

any thing else others have learnt while playing ?

ps this is not a rules questions thread but a thread for little things people missed, and see if others have made the same mistake.
 
A couple things that I think people normally miss...

1) You don't need to target a model. You can target a point on the ground, and create a fire zone around that point. This helps for maximizing models in the fire zone and for shooting models that are just outside your gun's range.

2) Command ranges are 6" apart from unit leader, so it is technically possible to have a unit of 5 models that, no matter, which model is targetted, you'll never hit more than 1 (of course, as I said above, you could always target the ground between them and hit as many as 3).

Those are things in both evo rule sets to keep in mind. Matt may clarify #2 (because in SST expecially it lets bugs really spread out), but the way I described it is how the rule is written for now.

That's all I can think of for now.
 
@Mr Evil: I missed that my first few games as well. Concealment only raising your target is especially important to remember for tank duels. (Yesterday my Abrams was killed from 60" away, the shot passing through the archway of a ruined church that was only giving my concealment.)

@Tigger: I thought line of sight was drawn from the center of the firing model to the fire zone, but the models in the fire zone only have to have part of their model in the zone to be affected?


1) The main thing I missed when I first started is that weapons only need range to the point where you make the fire zone. Sometimes this can give you a range boost. The first couple games I remember measuring range and being a few inches short, if I had made the fire zone there my troops could have fired.

2) I just realized last night that when measuring the radius of an explosion like a RPG, that you don't need the center point of a model to be in the blast, only part of the model itself.

3)Something that I've seen other people misinterpret is the ready action to drop the bipod on a MG. SST players sometimes think they have to perform the ready action every turn. The text on the card is clear, but I think they're still thinking in SST terms.
 
Rabidchild said:
@Tigger: I thought line of sight was drawn from the center of the firing model to the fire zone, but the models in the fire zone only have to have part of their model in the zone to be affected?

WHOOPS...

I have about 18 Evo rulesheets from over my playtesting time... Looks like I was glancing at an old one!

You got me on that one...
 
Just making sure I was doing it right. I like that the blast radius and the fire zone work the same way, it's very intuitive.
 
We completely missed that concealment penalty tidbit our first game out as well.

But we had it figured out in our second game. But we added extra terrain in our second game that generated even more questions.

Can tanks fire their main gun as a reaction?

If the tank takes two fire actions during its turn, can it fire its main gun both times? (I could swear that I'd somewhere on these message boards that the main gun can only fire once a turn, but I must be missing the rule in the main ruleset or the battlecards that backs it up).

We played with building in our most recent game. Of course, there are no interior walls, so you can see straight through them via their many windows. If you can see the barrel of a tanks main gun ever so slightly extending around the corner, can you fire it up through the building treating the building as cover? As a former tanker, firing at something as small as the end of a tanks main gun barrel seems a might stupid, but I if I was fairly sure that a sabot round could pass through the intervening building, I'd send one down range to introduce myself, being the friendly & neighborly sort that I am.

Is there any rule for squads transiting multistoried buildings? We made an ad hoc rule that the squad had to spend a move action gather in the center of the building and expend a move action to go up to the center of the next floor. One move action per floor, up or down. Anyone else playing it with a better method?

That was longer than I intended, but thanks in advance for your response.

Regards,
Larry
 
Daddy Dragon said:
...Can tanks fire their main gun as a reaction?
I can find a rule that allows a unit to fire as a reaction once per turn. I cannot find a rule that prohibits any specific units weapon from firing as a reaction. Then again, it may only be fired once per turn, which may be enough to negate a reaction. Maybe tank main guns will or will not be allowed to fire as a reaction in the advanced rulebook?

Daddy Dragon said:
If the tank takes two fire actions during its turn, can it fire its main gun both times? (I could swear that I'd somewhere on these message boards that the main gun can only fire once a turn, but I must be missing the rule in the main ruleset or the battlecards that backs it up).
The cards for the 125mm Gun for the Type 99 and the 120mm Gun for the Challenger II both have the following:
It may only be fired once per turn
Again, that may be enough to disallow reactions but wow, it's fun to watch tanks bang away at each other. :twisted:

Daddy Dragon said:
...firing at something as small as the end of a tanks main gun barrel seems a might stupid, but I if I was fairly sure that a sabot round could pass through the intervening building, I'd send one down range to introduce myself, being the friendly & neighborly sort that I am.
That's how I look at it. The rule is abstract bordering on simplistic but your explaination helps to make sense. I imagine the unintended consequence of the rule as written will be the use of very large pieces of terrain.

Daddy Dragon said:
...Is there any rule for squads transiting multistoried buildings? We made an ad hoc rule that the squad had to spend a move action gather in the center of the building and expend a move action to go up to the center of the next floor. One move action per floor, up or down. Anyone else playing it with a better method?
I use the Disposable Heroes method:

Touch the building with a model, the unit is now in the building if you so desire. They get 360 degree LOS too. Going up a level costs nothing unless agreed upon with the opponent that it's a truly large building or difficult in some odd way. It's what I'm used to with that game so works easy for me in BF:Evo too.
 
Elvis in Combat said:
The cards for the 125mm Gun for the Type 99 and the 120mm Gun for the Challenger II both have the following:
It may only be fired once per turn
Again, that may be enough to disallow reactions but wow, it's fun to watch tanks bang away at each other. :twisted:

As it also reads on my M1A2 card. I must be going blind in my old age. My son did protest mightily that I only allowed the tanks to fire once a turn without providing the rule to back it up.

Thank you, Sir!

Regards,
Larry
 
It's not under the gun's rules on the card, it's under the Armored rule, they can never react except to shoot with machineguns.
 
Rabidchild said:
It's not under the gun's rules on the card, it's under the Armored rule, they can never react except to shoot with machineguns.

And thanks to you as well, Rabidchild!

Is there some logic that I'm missing that makes sense placing it under the "Armored" rule as opposed to the rules for the gun itself? Putting aside the fact that I don't seem to be reading every line of the doggone thing anyway? Or am I in just too much of a hurry to want to play this game to worry about the an encyclopedic knowledge of the rules? Off to find a bottle of Geritol....

Regards,
Larry
 
Daddy Dragon said:
It's not under the gun's rules on the card, it's under the Armored rule, they can never react except to shoot with machineguns.

I had not noticed the wording before - Tanks CAN NOT move as a reaction - only fire MGs - Interesting!
 
Voracioustigger said:
2) Command ranges are 6" apart from unit leader, so it is technically possible to have a unit of 5 models that, no matter, which model is targetted, you'll never hit more than 1 (of course, as I said above, you could always target the ground between them and hit as many as 3).

Can't you target unit leader and get all? 6" command range, 6" kill zone, sounds like same...

Of course if you are right then that will just result in unit leader getting killed each and every time :D
 
tneva82 said:
Of course if you are right then that will just result in unit leader getting killed each and every time :D

My son has made this his favorite pasttime. He intentionally seeks out my sergeants and corporals wherever on the battlefield they may be.

That brings up another question from our last game...

One of my squads is behind cover on the roof of a building. As my corporal is directing the squads fire, he is targeted by a PLA soldier with a PF-89. The shot misses the corporal. Does the area damage effect still affect the rest of the squad within the 1" radius?

Regards,
Larry
 
Daddy Dragon said:
...targeted by a PLA soldier with a PF-89. The shot misses the corporal. Does the area damage effect still affect the rest of the squad within the 1" radius?

Yes, unless a 1 was rolled. The PF-89 reads that every model within 1" of the center of the model its first damage die is allocated to.

So if you roll a 1 the die is discarded, anything else the die is still allocated (even if it doesn't equal the hit or kill of the model it's on) and the rocket still gets to explode.
 
Mr Evil said:
have you found you played a few bit wrong while learning the game ?

i found out today i overlooked a reasonable biggy


::::::::obscured line of sight only effects target score not kill score !!!!

been plaing it slightly wrong till then any body else miss that or just me ? ::::::::::

any thing else others have learnt while playing ?

ps this is not a rules questions thread but a thread for little things people missed, and see if others have made the same mistake.

You got me thinking Mr. Evil, (that sometimes can be dangerous). Read the game report in the March issue of S&P. Note in the description of what the blokes are taking, the EFTF fellow says of his tanks, that when they are in cover they can't be killed outright. Are they playing the rules wrong, or are we?
 
The Old Soldier said:
Note in the description of what the blokes are taking, the EFTF fellow says of his tanks, that when they are in cover they can't be killed outright. Are they playing the rules wrong, or are we?

Try to find weapon that can reach kill value of 15 :D

Best so far is d10+4. Maybe leopard 2 with 140mm gun will be able to knock one out but until then challenger II is impervious to any attempt to kill it in one shot if it can claim the +2 bonus from cover.
 
The Old Soldier said:
You got me thinking Mr. Evil, (that sometimes can be dangerous). Read the game report in the March issue of S&P. Note in the description of what the blokes are taking, the EFTF fellow says of his tanks, that when they are in cover they can't be killed outright. Are they playing the rules wrong, or are we?


That is because if LOS is obscured you get +1 Target score. If in cover you get +2 target AND kill score.

Sad but true, we forgot to use our "AOE" on our tank main guns the first few turns. Getting used to taking reactions again has also been a challenge!

Great game for the most part though!
 
Rabidchild said:
Daddy Dragon said:
...targeted by a PLA soldier with a PF-89. The shot misses the corporal. Does the area damage effect still affect the rest of the squad within the 1" radius?

Yes, unless a 1 was rolled. The PF-89 reads that every model within 1" of the center of the model its first damage die is allocated to.

So if you roll a 1 the die is discarded, anything else the die is still allocated (even if it doesn't equal the hit or kill of the model it's on) and the rocket still gets to explode.
:shock:
Say what?

Why wouldn't it fly past the target zone and be ignored all together? IF it still counts as an ineffective, sucessful hit, we've been playing AoE all wrong. I read it as if the target is hit, then it splashes damage. We still counted it for suppression (who wouldn't duck from the smoke trail)
 
Oh crud.

Basic Rules under "Shooting"
"Roll Damage Dice for your entire unit. Discard all Damage Dice that roll a natural ‘1’. These represent missed shots or ammunition jams."

That changes things a lot.
 
Back
Top