I'm confused about Effect Die & Damage

iconoplast

Mongoose
I've never played Traveller before & I'm working from the 3.1 playtest rules.

Pg. 12, Combat Round 1:
Kathya now chooses which die is Timing and which is Effect. She picks a 2 for Timing and 3 for Effect. Her Initiative die
becomes a 2. Her Effect is a 3+DMs=6.
Her damage is: 6 (Effect)x1 + 3, minus her target's armour of 3, for a total of 6.


So, in this example, you take the effect die, modify it by the DM, and the result is Effect. And Effect is what you plug into the damage calculation.

(This is supported by the definition of Effect in the task resolution section on page 3)

...
The thug rolls a 4 and a 6. That's a 10, plus his Gun Combat skill of 1, -2 for Kathya's cover. The total is 11 – a hit. He
takes the 4 for Effect and 6 for Timing. His Initiative die stays at 6. His Effect is 4-1=3
His damage is 4x1+2=6..."


This example makes it look different - like effect is just the die roll, without the DM.

Also - do the rules about increasing/decreasing time taken apply to combat actions?
 
iconoplast said:
I've never played Traveller before & I'm working from the 3.1 playtest rules.

Pg. 12, Combat Round 1:
Kathya now chooses which die is Timing and which is Effect. She picks a 2 for Timing and 3 for Effect. Her Initiative die
becomes a 2. Her Effect is a 3+DMs=6.
Her damage is: 6 (Effect)x1 + 3, minus her target's armour of 3, for a total of 6.


So, in this example, you take the effect die, modify it by the DM, and the result is Effect. And Effect is what you plug into the damage calculation.

(This is supported by the definition of Effect in the task resolution section on page 3)

This is correct.

The thug rolls a 4 and a 6. That's a 10, plus his Gun Combat skill of 1, -2 for Kathya's cover. The total is 11 – a hit. He
takes the 4 for Effect and 6 for Timing. His Initiative die stays at 6. His Effect is 4-1=3
His damage is 4x1+2=6..."


This example makes it look different - like effect is just the die roll, without the DM.

This is a mistake.

Also - do the rules about increasing/decreasing time taken apply to combat actions?

Given that the existence of the Hasty Action rule specifically for combat, I would say no.
 
Back
Top