Emine vs Breaching Pod

fuzzilogik

Mongoose
Once a breaching pod has latched onto the hull of a ship, can it be fired on by emines? The 2e rules state,

"Once a breaching pod has survived any Anti-Fighter defences and is in base contact with the targeted ship it may not be shot at by any other weapons from either the target or another ship as the breaching pod will have clamped onto the ship's hull."

Now...that seems pretty darn clear to me, but my friend argued that the emines are not targeting the breaching pod and that the breaching pods should still be susceptible to area damage. I argued that the breaching pods are no longer individual targets because they are now effectively part of the target ship's hull (and in these rules we aren't rolling to see what part of the hull is being hit). I told him I would post the question to get opinions.

Thanks!
Fuzzi
 
It actually wouldn't matter if they can be hit by the e-mine, as they have already delivered their Troop to the ship during its Attack Phase.

But hey, if the e-mining ship really wants to get those damnable Troops, let him smoke his own ship to get at them! :)

-Bry
 
Interestingly, I'd say for the sake of a campaign that you kill the Breaching Pod but for the purposes of the battle the Troops stay on the target ship!
 
Even in a campaign - once the pods lock in they are lost. You don't get them back after combat regardless of what happens to the target ship.
 
Sulfurdown said:
Even in a campaign - once the pods lock in they are lost. You don't get them back after combat regardless of what happens to the target ship.
Just to confirm this as I don't have the rules on me, where does it say this?
 
Page 42 "Breaching pods that have disembarked troops are removed from the table at the end of the phase" suggests that they're lost.
 
It is unclear... I would think you'd get to keep them if you captured the ship.

Something jumping to hyper is removed from the table but not lost.

Same thing withdrawing from the table edge.

Just saying...

Ripple
 
Once the pod is attached and has cut it's way into the other ship it is effectively part of its hull. Destroying it would make a hole in that hull. This is not a good thing in vacuum.
 
inq101 said:
Once the pod is attached and has cut it's way into the other ship it is effectively part of its hull. Destroying it would make a hole in that hull. This is not a good thing in vacuum.
Hence the man who invented the e-mine as a method of damaging enemy vessels rests safely, his work done.
 
Back
Top