Declaring Special Actions off-table

I had asked a while ago (here) about ships entering from off-table (such as in Blockade or Convoy Duty) being able to declare special actions on the turn they enter. The response was that they could. That seemed reasonable, and I didn't see a problem with it until I got the 2e Fleet Book.

The problem is that ISA as a defender in the Blockade mission will never lose unless the person playing them is daft. A Blue Star using All Power to Engines moves 24", getting off the far table edge 48" away in two turns, before the attacker has any chance to stop them. In a campaign it would be possible for some other races as well with a speed refit.

So, are there official rulings for these situations:
1) Can a ship entering from a board edge use a special action?
2) Can a ship entering from hyperspace through another ship's JP use a special action? (per p.26 I'm pretty sure this one is a "yes")
3) Can a ship with AJE entering from hypersapce through its own JP use a special action if it has an Other Duty or Admiral that allows it to use 2 SAs per turn? (again, I'm pretty sure this should be "yes")
 
katadder said:
actually the blue star will be on the board edge and escape turn 3 :)
Is it? If the table is 48" wide and the ship moves 24" each turn, I'd say it would be off after 2. If it is on the board and doesn't escape until 3 then this isn't a problem, just makes the attacker really work for the win.
 
Technically katadder is right, since you don't start on the board you move onto it and on to the 24" line in turn 1, then onto the 48" line in turn 2. Balancing the ship there however, is another matter!
 
What the hell is going on here?!?!?! Burger and Katadder have agreed with each other twice now on completely different topics in one afternoon! Its the appocalypse!!! :P
 
:shock:

I'm just going to go ahead and take off from work and spend the rest of these short days with my wife and family.
 
Back
Top