Harry Lonsdale
Mongoose
I had asked a while ago (here) about ships entering from off-table (such as in Blockade or Convoy Duty) being able to declare special actions on the turn they enter. The response was that they could. That seemed reasonable, and I didn't see a problem with it until I got the 2e Fleet Book.
The problem is that ISA as a defender in the Blockade mission will never lose unless the person playing them is daft. A Blue Star using All Power to Engines moves 24", getting off the far table edge 48" away in two turns, before the attacker has any chance to stop them. In a campaign it would be possible for some other races as well with a speed refit.
So, are there official rulings for these situations:
1) Can a ship entering from a board edge use a special action?
2) Can a ship entering from hyperspace through another ship's JP use a special action? (per p.26 I'm pretty sure this one is a "yes")
3) Can a ship with AJE entering from hypersapce through its own JP use a special action if it has an Other Duty or Admiral that allows it to use 2 SAs per turn? (again, I'm pretty sure this should be "yes")
The problem is that ISA as a defender in the Blockade mission will never lose unless the person playing them is daft. A Blue Star using All Power to Engines moves 24", getting off the far table edge 48" away in two turns, before the attacker has any chance to stop them. In a campaign it would be possible for some other races as well with a speed refit.
So, are there official rulings for these situations:
1) Can a ship entering from a board edge use a special action?
2) Can a ship entering from hyperspace through another ship's JP use a special action? (per p.26 I'm pretty sure this one is a "yes")
3) Can a ship with AJE entering from hypersapce through its own JP use a special action if it has an Other Duty or Admiral that allows it to use 2 SAs per turn? (again, I'm pretty sure this should be "yes")