Critical Rune Casting in Elric

Big Orc

Mongoose
According to the rules, if a Rune Casting(rune) test is a critical the caster uses one less MP to power the Rune, if only one MP is used it is free. What happens if a character inscribes, for example, the Light Rune on a coin, the test result is a critical and the rune activates at no MP cost, according the rules inscribed runes do not lose power until the caster withdraws the MP from it, therefore, the coin will be permanatly 'on' because there are no MP's to be removed from the runes power? Is this correct?
 
Personally I would say that even with a critical at least one point is required to channel the magical energies and maintain a rune.
Some other benefit could be gained from the critical - an insight into the rune that is rewarded with an advancement roll perhaps, or improved function of the runes effect.
 
The rules state that it costs the caster 1 MP less to cast the rune on a critical, a 1 MP rune is therefore 'free' to the caster. In the case of an inscribed 1MP rune, the Rune would function as if it had 1 MP invested in it (until the sorcerer decided to de-activate it or he dies, whichever comes first), but that MP is not deducted from the sorcerers total MP. So essentially, you are correct. The item is 'permanently' on.
 
DamonJynx said:
The rules state that it costs the caster 1 MP less to cast the rune on a critical, a 1 MP rune is therefore 'free' to the caster. In the case of an inscribed 1MP rune, the Rune would function as if it had 1 MP invested in it (until the sorcerer decided to de-activate it or he dies, whichever comes first), but that MP is not deducted from the sorcerers total MP. So essentially, you are correct. The item is 'permanently' on.

True, only runes which truly last eternally without reactivation are those carved by Lords of the Higher Planes and those rune items are something a wise person might want to avoid. :)

However when you inscribe rune to an item with a critical score, it's good to remember that having a rune permanently on isn't necessarily a good thing, because the effect may not be beneficial in every situation and it can also attract some unwanted attention. So it's likely that sorcerer might want to deactivate it at some point and after that activation costs are normal unless another critical is rolled.
 
Olaus Petrus said:
DamonJynx said:
The rules state that it costs the caster 1 MP less to cast the rune on a critical, a 1 MP rune is therefore 'free' to the caster. In the case of an inscribed 1MP rune, the Rune would function as if it had 1 MP invested in it (until the sorcerer decided to de-activate it or he dies, whichever comes first), but that MP is not deducted from the sorcerers total MP. So essentially, you are correct. The item is 'permanently' on.

True, only runes which truly last eternally without reactivation are those carved by Lords of the Higher Planes and those rune items are something a wise person might want to avoid. :)

However when you inscribe rune to an item with a critical score, it's good to remember that having a rune permanently on isn't necessarily a good thing, because the effect may not be beneficial in every situation and it can also attract some unwanted attention. So it's likely that sorcerer might want to deactivate it at some point and after that activation costs are normal unless another critical is rolled.
+1
 
Back
Top