Critical damage and Escalate

gord314

Mongoose
In our game yesterday one of my ships reached level 6 on the impulse critical track. By our reading of the rules, at this point the impulse critical track no longer escalates, since there are no more levels of critical hits to reach, but all future critical hits to this location cause 2d6 damage (the extra damage from the level 6 critical). Just wanted to confirm that escalate doesn't cause extra damage if the ship already has 6 criticals in that location.
 
One for Matt.

For me I would say no, once you hit 6 everything that could have exploded has done so and you cannot go above that. Of course when you repair the Impulse down to 5 and then take an Impulse crit those carefull repairs explode and you take level 6 all over again.
 
Never thought of that- thats a really good question- it says thats once you hit a crit that has "escalate" that you will continue to roll for it until its brought back down- it also says that once you hit crit score 6 that any further crit will just apply the damage of level 6 crit- so if you have to escalate and fail the roll- wouldn't you have to apply the damage of the level 6 crit since in a sense you've gain a crit score you can't apply?
 
I agree with Mojo.
You can't repair it, but it will still continue to escalate meaning that any failed roll will result in you taking the level 6 damage again.
 
I have no problem either way, yesterday was a very rare case where a ship had a level 6 critical and wasn't destroyed, and it didn't survive till the end phase of the turn anyway. The point of ambiguity is the use of the term critical level vs. critical hit. Is raising the critical level one point due to escalate (or a different critical result) a critical hit, or does a critical hit have to be from rolling on the damage chart?
 
Captain Jonah said:
Of course when you repair the Impulse down to 5 and then take an Impulse crit those carefull repairs explode and you take level 6 all over again.
Crit level 6 cannot be repaired during combat. Now, if you had said repaired from level 5 to level 4, then yes, you are correct.

I noticed something in the campaign rules that makes no sense whatsoever: it says that crippled ships cannot be repaired at all. Huh? Maybe they need to be towed back to base for depot-level repair (sitting out "x" number of engagements), but otherwise why shouldn't one be able to repair crippled ships in a campaign???
 
You can, but you have to spend Fleet Points equal to 1/4 of it's points cost to bring it's damage to 1 point above the Crippled threshold before repairing it as normal. It's in the first part of the Repair & Reinforcements section.
 
Good catch on not repairing level 6 crits.

Still if a Level 6 crit basicly means everything that could be destroyed has been smashed beyond repair how would you get repeats of the level 6 crits.

If 6 is the cap why would you take more extra damage from stuff exploding if it has already exploded completely ?
 
Back
Top