Couple of questions

stryve

Mongoose
Couple of quick questions pertaining to the campaign my group just startred:

1. Can Stealth be raised (by Dust Clouds, distance, etc.) over 6?
2. For ISA, Psi Corp, and Vree, are CQ 6 ships effectively CQ 7?
3. Does the 10% reduction given by a Jump Gate apply to each individual purchase, or the total cost of all reinforcements for that turn?
4. When using multiple Scouts, do all scouting actions have to be declared before any are preformed?
5. Similarly, do all ships in a squadron have to declare targets before any fire?

That's it for the moment, though I'll probably have more later.
 
stryve said:
1. Can Stealth be raised (by Dust Clouds, distance, etc.) over 6?

Yes, except Run Silent will not increase stealth above 6. Remember stealth is always broken on a 6.

2. For ISA, Psi Corp, and Vree, are CQ 6 ships effectively CQ 7?

ISA and Psi Corps have a maximum CQ of 6. Vree crews have a +1 bonus to CQ checks, so effectively they can be CQ 7.

3. Does the 10% reduction given by a Jump Gate apply to each individual purchase, or the total cost of all reinforcements for that turn?

I would do it individually.

4. When using multiple Scouts, do all scouting actions have to be declared before any are preformed?

No, do one at a time. It isn't specified, but that is generally the way it is played, in my experience.

5. Similarly, do all ships in a squadron have to declare targets before any fire?

Yes. But stealth checks are rolled per ship, after declaration. And remember to resolve the entire squadron's fire before rolling on the explosion table.

I hope that helps.
 
Do wish they'd drop that last bit... hitting a ship with more fire shouldn't increase it's chance of exploding. Hell putting lots of holes in the shell is more likely to make it just vent out not blow up...

Ripple
 
Thanks for the prompt reply!

As promised, more questions:

1. Do ships exiting hyperspace exit the turn after the jump point was created?
2. Can a Weak weapon hit hull 6?
 
1 - yes, nothing can use a jump point on the turn it is created.

2 - yes, a six always hits on attack rolls.

Ripple
 
Dr Stubbsberg said:
Lumati and Shadows are special exceptions tanks to Hyperspace Mastery

Not exactly - the Shadows have Hyperspace Mastery which means they don't place a jump point at all, they just appear.

The Lumati transport don't have Hyperspace Mastery so they do need to use jump points, but they can use them on the turn they were created. Interestingly, it doesn't say that these jump points must be ones created by themselves (or another Lumati transport), so it looks like a Lumati transport in a League fleet could use a jump point created by a different race on the turn it was created.

Regards,

Dave
 
Greg Smith said:
3. Does the 10% reduction given by a Jump Gate apply to each individual purchase, or the total cost of all reinforcements for that turn?

I would do it individually.

[/quote]

Do you round up or down?
 
I round mathematically, ie to the nearest whole number. I do this since the rule isn't clear about whether you round the reduction or the result.

So patrol 3- 10% = 2.7 = 3
Skirmish: 6-10% = 5.4 = 5
Raid 12-10% = 10.8 = 11
 
Alringt, one more. For now, anyway...

How many reductions can you achieve against Stealth? One for Scout, one for within 8", and one for previous hit? Or does each ship that breaks stealth give a reduction? Are fighters counted seperately?

I know I've seen this on the boards before, but my abitlity to produce useful results with the forum search is pretty much nil.
 
1 for scout
1 for within 8"
1 if the target was seen and the ship seeing it is still on the table (fighters don't count separately)

which is 3 under normal circumstances.

Also: 1 for Shadows/Vorlons, 1 for advanced sensor array refit, 1 for an admiral with Analytical mastermind.

The maximum is therefore -5.

Remember fighters in base contact ignore stealth, and so automatically grant the +1 bonus to others if they aren't destroyed. So sometimes it useful sacrificing a bunch of starfuries to get one in close to a Sharlin.

And don't forget the Ancients ignore stealth, and a Leshath will drop it to 1+.

I think that covers all the possible reductions.
 
Wait, is it only a +1 to the Stealth roll for "Seeing" the Stealthed ship, or is it a +1 to the roll for Hitting a stealthed ship?

I could have sworn there was a period of complaints about emines making it easier to break stealth...
 
its +1 for a successful attack as long as the attacker lives which unfortunately means e-mines can help you break stealth.
 
+1 for seeing a stealthed ship.

Example, Narn fleet targets a Tinashi. Dag'kar fires first. Its emines will strike the Tinashi, but it still needs to roll stealth for its ion torpedoes. It doesn't gain a bonus because it is the first ship to fire. The tinashi fires back, damaging but not destroying the Dag'kar. A Ka'toc squadron fires both roll stealth, both getting +1 to break stealth because of the Dag'kar.
 
Greg Smith said:
+1 for seeing a stealthed ship.

Example, Narn fleet targets a Tinashi. Dag'kar fires first. Its emines will strike the Tinashi, but it still needs to roll stealth for its ion torpedoes. It doesn't gain a bonus because it is the first ship to fire. The tinashi fires back, damaging but not destroying the Dag'kar. A Ka'toc squadron fires both roll stealth, both getting +1 to break stealth because of the Dag'kar.

But this still begs the question:
If the emines damages the Tinashi, but the Dag'Kar does not successfully see the Tinashi, do the Ka'Tocs get the bonus?
 
Taran said:
Greg Smith said:
+1 for seeing a stealthed ship.

Example, Narn fleet targets a Tinashi. Dag'kar fires first. Its emines will strike the Tinashi, but it still needs to roll stealth for its ion torpedoes. It doesn't gain a bonus because it is the first ship to fire. The tinashi fires back, damaging but not destroying the Dag'kar. A Ka'toc squadron fires both roll stealth, both getting +1 to break stealth because of the Dag'kar.

But this still begs the question:
If the emines damages the Tinashi, but the Dag'Kar does not successfully see the Tinashi, do the Ka'Tocs get the bonus?

Yes, because the ship was successfully attacked and the ship that did it (the Dag'Kar) was still on the table and not stricken or running adrift.

Though that is going by the rules as written. It could be argued that the emines attacked the ship and then were no longer on the table thus it does not apply. Since ships firing e-mines are not targetting a ship but a point in space it indirectly damages the ship. If you go with the argument that emines grant the shooting ship targetting status for purposes of reducing stealth, then should it not also gain targeting status when hitting their own ships with emines(which is against the rules)?

It a funny thing when the ship firing the emines is targetting in one instance (against stealth) but not in others (when hitting their own ships to clear out fighters or other enemy ships.

It really should be one way or the other in both instances.
 
Does the +1 bonus to break stealth come from the scanners of the first ship to hit the target, or from the flames and debris resulting from the hit?

If the former, the Dag'kar hasn't scanned the Tinashi; it's only set off an explosion which just happened to be nearby. So I'd say the Ka'tocs should not get a bonus; e-mines do not give a +1 to break stealth.

But if it's the damage which is giving the bonus then the Ka'tocs should get the bonus whether or not the Dag'kar is destroyed - the Tinashi is still glowing in the dark. Attempts to break stealth should get a +1 if the stealthy ship has been hit by anything, regardless of whether what scored the hit is still around.
 
Back
Top