Counter Magic

Zotzz

Mongoose
THis is a question for one of you who has had an early look at the companion book.

Are the spells for Divine magic and sorcery tracked in spell magnitudes? And if so what range are they in? :?:

The reason I am asking is that there are several Rune spells such as "Counter Magic" that have differrent effects based upon the magnitude of the spell they are interacting with. I am trying to gauge the effectiveness of the rune spells in the Core book so that I can add a few more to fill in a few holes while i wait for the Magic book later this year. I am new to RuneQuest so I am not familure with the power of the Rune spells in the past but based on everything I have read online and on this forum it seems that Rune magic is intended to be a minor magic common available to anyone who gets thier hands on a rune and someone to teach them a spell or two.

Based on that criteria, If the Rune spell Counter magic could be used to block the spells cast by a powerul sourcer, it would be way over powered.

Of course you have spells in the book like Skybolt which can do 18 points of armour avoiding damage that any low level cultist with a Chaos rune and pocket full of silver can afford. :shock:

Best to change these spells quick. I'm going to drop Skybolt to 2d6 damage. It is listed under the Storm King cult which suggests, as does the name, that it was maybe intended as an Air rune spell. This would at least make the vaporising of heroic player character's less likely!

Even if you lower skybolt to 2d6 it still seems over powered. You get to blow someones limb off for a 3 spell points.

Take a look as some of the other damage causing spells:

Dragon Breath - mag 1, 1d8 points of damage but armour blocks it. This is that same as a short bow with the exception that hte attack is magical and fire based.

Fire Arrow - mag 2, 1d10 points of damge that armour blocks. Same as a nomad bow with the exception that is is magical and fire based.