Command squad and transport

Raznag

Mongoose
If my command squad is carried in a transport, can it give a third action to another unit or it must be on the table to be able to give the bonus action?

Thank's for your answer!
 
The Old Soldier said:
It must be ON the table. So if in a transport the answer is no.

Whaaaaaaaaaaaaat ? :shock:
If there on a building there not ON the table either.

Think I need an actual MGoosey answer for this one.
 
Command sections in transports or helicopters that physically on the table may give a third action as normal. Note this means you can put your command section in a Lynx and fly them around the table.

You'd be crazy to though, because helicopters are death traps.
 
lastbesthope said:
Models in a building ARE on the table.

LBH
Yes, I know I was trying to make a point and din't put it correctly.
If a model is on/in a building then it is on the table same as it on if iit is in a jeep.
 
But, that is the way MP ruled it, and I concur it is a good ruling.

This topic has been discussed manytimes before. See the rulemaster section. IF you go back far enough you will find the ruling. I just except what LBH said, afterall he has been to all the MP tourneys and is very knowlegible with BFE rules.
 
TOS is correct. I too remember reading the official answer that command squads in transports are "NOT" on the table for this rule. I know, I know, most APCs typically have WAY better radios than the man-portable back-pack PRC being lugged around by the officer's gopher, but this is the official ruling. Which does mean Ben2 is not correct in his assertion you can be flying in a Lynx and still command. Of course, irl, this is even more silly as a helicopter is a great command place giving a wargamer's god-like overhead view of the entire battle! :P

As TOS recommends, check the rulemaster section and go back a few pages or so.

Now iirc, the Adv. Book allows you to give a vehicle command status, which is a way around this. But it's been so long since I looked at this part of the Adv. rulebook, I'm no longer sure I'm remembering it right. :wink:
 
You remember right Shadow4ce. The main reason I see that the command models can not use their 3rd action ablity while loaded is a simple Game mechanic. Nice to keep things simple and even across the board when it comes to rulings.

Like Shadow4ce said, you can always upgrade to a Command Vehicle in the Main Rule Book in army construction.
 
The Old Soldier said:
You remember right Shadow4ce. The main reason I see that the command models can not use their 3rd action ablity while loaded is a simple Game mechanic. Nice to keep things simple and even across the board when it comes to rulings.

Like Shadow4ce said, you can always upgrade to a Command Vehicle in the Main Rule Book in army construction.

Agreed, nice and simple across the board. Also remember that the command vehicle can only be used if you take an armored company list, meaning you need two armor units plus the one you use for command. Fairly points intensive until we get light armor assets.
 
Well think of it like this, a EFTF CMD Squad in a Warrior, the models are not on the table so they're not on the table in game terms, but in a building, the models are on the table, so they are on the table.

LBH
 
Back
Top