Combat Questions

sween

Mongoose
just started playing mongoose traveller. All our RPG group are enjoying it, i havent seen them so animated for ages!

I have some questions on Combat and would like to hear comments please.

[1]
player A is shooting npc B with gun that does 3d6+3 (no cover or other mods for the to hit)
to hit 8+
gun skill = 1
dex adj = 1
he rolls a 12! (effect 14 - 8 = 6)
he hits the npc and rolls the following for damage
3d6 for a 4,3,5 = 12. adds +3 totaling 15. the "effect" bonus is 6 for total damage of 21.
is this the correct way to do it?

[2]
applying damage, if player A's endurance is reduced down to for example 3. does he gets -2 to all endurance tests, -2 to all tests, or no penalties?
also would penalties stack when other stats are reduced?

thanks
 
Welcome to the board sween!

#1 - looks right.
#2 - the reduced End affects DM for End - only for End related tasks (not all tasks) and such.

Typically only one attribute DM applies to any task or other rule mechanic... so attributes don't generally 'stack'. DMs, of course, do combine to give a final DM...

Hope that's helpful.
 
Yeah but if his Strength (rather than Endurance) was reduced to 3 that would give the character an immediate -1 DM to all melee attacks (if he chooses to use strength and not dexterity for these) and if his dexterity was so reduced he would get a -1 DM to all future gun attacks.
 
apoc527 said:
Also, don't forget that you tire quickly as your carrying capacity gets reduced as your Str and End go down.

And fatigue does creep in once he makes more melee hits than his endurance at which point he will get -2 DM to all future checks (incl combat checks).

I assume endurance no longer (officially) determines how often you can run in a combat as it did in CT? I cant see it anywhere. That one might be an endurance check I suppose, every time you try to run around, especially while load carrying.
 
You might find this useful;

https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&pid=explorer&chrome=true&srcid=0B7XM_c-luqpgYTE1NGI0YWUtNDAzZS00NzE3LWJkY2YtYjk3NjNhZDVhZjBh&authkey=CI_20NwK&hl=en_GB&authkey=CI_20NwK
 
Stainless said:
You might find this useful;

https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&pid=explorer&chrome=true&srcid=0B7XM_c-luqpgYTE1NGI0YWUtNDAzZS00NzE3LWJkY2YtYjk3NjNhZDVhZjBh&authkey=CI_20NwK&hl=en_GB&authkey=CI_20NwK

A good flowchart - didn't realise combat was that complicated! But you have something wrong on it. If you are seriously injured you can only move up to 1.5m over the whole combat round, not per minor action.
 
nats said:
Stainless said:
You might find this useful;

https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&pid=explorer&chrome=true&srcid=0B7XM_c-luqpgYTE1NGI0YWUtNDAzZS00NzE3LWJkY2YtYjk3NjNhZDVhZjBh&authkey=CI_20NwK&hl=en_GB&authkey=CI_20NwK

A good flowchart - didn't realise combat was that complicated! But you have something wrong on it. If you are seriously injured you can only move up to 1.5m over the whole combat round, not per minor action.

Thanks. The rules are poorly written around this area. The book says;

"Seriously wounded characters who have somehow avoided unconsciousness cannot move except to hobble or crawl along at 1.5 metres per combat round. They also lose their minor
action in combat."

This suggests you loose your (singular) minor action.

However, you can trade in a significant action for two minor actions (thus you could have three minor actions in total). So are the rules suggesting you loose one of those three minor actions, leaving you with two others to use? Or were they in fact intending you to loose all your minor actions (and so it should be written "...They also lose their minor action(s) in combat.")? If the latter, it would mean you can do nothing.

However, it is explicit that you can move. Since "Movement" is described under "Minor actions" it would appear you loose only one minor action from being seriously injured as that would leave you with the two minor actions you cashed in from the significant action. You might want to argue that you can use both of those minor actions as movements, and since you're limited to 1.5 meters per round, it must mean one minor action equals only 0.75 meters if seriously injured.

Thus, the rules as written are ambiguous and I think open to more than one interpretation.
 
Stainless said:
However, you can trade in a significant action for two minor actions (thus you could have three minor actions in total). So are the rules suggesting you loose one of those three minor actions, leaving you with two others to use? Or were they in fact intending you to loose all your minor actions (and so it should be written "...They also lose their minor action(s) in combat.")? If the latter, it would mean you can do nothing.

However, it is explicit that you can move. Since "Movement" is described under "Minor actions" it would appear you loose only one minor action from being seriously injured as that would leave you with the two minor actions you cashed in from the significant action. You might want to argue that you can use both of those minor actions as movements, and since you're limited to 1.5 meters per round, it must mean one minor action equals only 0.75 meters if seriously injured.

Thus, the rules as written are ambiguous and I think open to more than one interpretation.

Yeah so what's new I could start a book on the ambiguity of these rules! I don't know. Seems to me the rule is that they can only move 1.5m a round whatever else they do. But yes it does sound like they still have a significant action with which to attack or do task checks, but not move. Personally I would remove that option and just have them able to move 1.5m and thats it. Once you open up the allowance to attack then the question arises of whether they can do melee attacks etc and are they weakened or what? Too complicated. If they are almost dead then I would see it as being able to crawl and that's all they can do.
 
nats said:
Stainless said:
However, you can trade in a significant action for two minor actions (thus you could have three minor actions in total). So are the rules suggesting you loose one of those three minor actions, leaving you with two others to use? Or were they in fact intending you to loose all your minor actions (and so it should be written "...They also lose their minor action(s) in combat.")? If the latter, it would mean you can do nothing.

However, it is explicit that you can move. Since "Movement" is described under "Minor actions" it would appear you loose only one minor action from being seriously injured as that would leave you with the two minor actions you cashed in from the significant action. You might want to argue that you can use both of those minor actions as movements, and since you're limited to 1.5 meters per round, it must mean one minor action equals only 0.75 meters if seriously injured.

Thus, the rules as written are ambiguous and I think open to more than one interpretation.

Yeah so what's new I could start a book on the ambiguity of these rules! I don't know. Seems to me the rule is that they can only move 1.5m a round whatever else they do. But yes it does sound like they still have a significant action with which to attack or do task checks, but not move. Personally I would remove that option and just have them able to move 1.5m and thats it. Once you open up the allowance to attack then the question arises of whether they can do melee attacks etc and are they weakened or what? Too complicated. If they are almost dead then I would see it as being able to crawl and that's all they can do.

Ah, but what about the heroic last ditch shot? Don't really think that rule is ambigoius, severely wounded can hobble around, or combine both their minor actions into a significant action allowing them to get a shot off.

In the Sword Worlds such behaviour is virtually mandatory. :)

Egil
 
Back
Top