Closing and Disengaging

danonano

Mongoose
Couple of questions about closing/disengaging:

If the opponent decides to attack the closer, the book says: "the opponent resists the Evade Opposed Test with his combat skill. Whether or not he is hit, the closer succeeds in reaching close combat distance", So how it should be resolved? As a normal attack? If the opponent gets a combat manoeuvre in the attack, can he chose "Change Distance"? Must the closer spend an additional CA to parry the attack?


Also, if the closer succeeds, the opponent cannot parry (as stated in the book) or he cannot attack?
 
danonano said:
If the opponent decides to attack the closer, the book says: "the opponent resists the Evade Opposed Test with his combat skill. Whether or not he is hit, the closer succeeds in reaching close combat distance", So how it should be resolved? As a normal attack?
No, it is an opposed roll. If the opponent wins then the closer is hit, if he loses then the closer gets in unscathed. If one side gets the better level of success, then they gain a CM as per the normal rules.

If the opponent gets a combat manoeuvre in the attack, can he chose "Change Distance"?
Yes he can, at which point the closing attempt is superseded by whatever the opponent wants to do.

Must the closer spend an additional CA to parry the attack?
The closer doesn't get to parry. He is using footwork to leap/rush forwards and does not have the concentration to focus on actively parrying at the same time. If his evade failed, then he got hit on the way in, ouch.

Also, if the closer succeeds, the opponent cannot parry (as stated in the book) or he cannot attack?
That requires a clarification.

"The opponent cannot parry with his weapon until he reopens the distance."

In such a situation he could switch to using his unarmed skill to help defend himself instead.

Being caught in very close combat, normally doesn't prevent you from doing something offensive with the larger weapon. Even if if my foe has stepped right up to me, I can still use the haft, pommel, guard to do some damage. In these circumstances, you can house-rule a reduction in damage if the situation feels contrived.
 
Mongoose Pete said:
Being caught in very close combat, normally doesn't prevent you from doing something offensive with the larger weapon. Even if if my foe has stepped right up to me, I can still use the haft, pommel, guard to do some damage. In these circumstances, you can house-rule a reduction in damage if the situation feels contrived.

For a long time I've played that if you get caught in a close combat situation with the wrong weapon that you can use it as an improvised weapon using your Unarmed skill doing a base of 1D4 damage. It gives an extra use for unarmed skill and seems to reflect things quite well. In RQII terms I would rule that it can't use any of the weapon specific combat mans (e.g. bleed, impale) and would be Touch reach and Small Size.
 
Back
Top