Charge & Double Damage

Conan 2E page 170, as an example of "multiplying damage" mentions : ."...a hunting spear hit a charging opponent (x2 damage)..."
HOWEVER, this rule is not specified anywhere in the manual.
Does it means that (as in regular d20) a spear set against a charging opponent (through a ready action) always double the damage?
Obviously the same should aply to pikes.
 
Note that I haven't read 2nd fully yet, so there might be some new addition that I'm missing...

Anyway, if you read the description for the bill (page 146) and the pollaxe (page 150) you see that they state rules for the setting against charge thing. This is exactly as it was in the older edition; these weapons had this ability, but it was not mentioned for the spears. My guess is that this is just a case of some missing rules; it's pretty clear to me that you should be able to set against a charge with a pike or a war spear (and possibly with a hunting spear as well, the quote you mentioned from page 170 does indicate this).
 
Back
Top