[CONAN] Help me understand the Ready Action

I've been told that I'm wrong about this. If I am, I'd like to know for sure so that I understand the rule correctly.

What I see when I read the Ready Action is this...

1. That Readying an action is a standard action.

2. That a character can ready a standard, move, or free action (and a swift action in D&D).

3. That if a character performs no other movement, he can take his 5' step either as he readies the action or as part of whatever action he readies.



Given that, let's say that I think my character will be charged. I want to ready my spear to receive a charge.

1. Standard Action. I ready the spear to receive the charge. I shove the spear into the ground. I cover it with my foot. I brace the spear for the incoming impact with my arms. All of this is considered "readying" the action and is a standard action.

2. Standard Action. When I am charged, I make an attack against my foe just before he attacks me. If I hit, I will do automatic double damage, which is a bonus to this type of attack (spears readied against charges).



Now, that's two actions I've taken in the round. I've readied and action and I've taken an action. That's all I can do this round, except maybe take a 5' step as I readied the action.

There is no room in the round to move because I've taken two actions.





Others have said that a character can Move up to his Speed, Ready the spear for the charge, and then also get the attack when the attack action is triggered by a charge.

By my count, that's three actions: 1 action for the Move, 1 action for the readying of the action, and 1 action once the readied action is triggered.



Do you see this differently than I do?

If so, how?
 
Here's a quicker way to look at the question.

The rules say that "readying an action" is a standard action. Let's say that you want to ready a move action. If that's so, when does the standard action take place?

I say it happens like this:

1. You ready your Move for later in the round = Standard Action.

2. You Move when triggered = Move Action.





Other people tend to argue that a character can do three actions with the Ready action. That they can Move up to their speed, then ready an action, then perform the readied action when triggered.

For example, let's say that you want to move to a door and ready an attack (the example from the D&D PHB).

1. Move to the door = Move Action.

2. Ready Attack = Standard Action.

3. Attack! when triggered = Standard Action.

That's three actions in a turn.

I believe that the example in the PHB is talking about the 5' step, since it is in the paragraph discussing the 5' step.

So, a character could...

1. Use his 5' step to move to the open door = Free Action.

2. Ready the Attack for later in the round = Standard Action.

3. Attack when triggered = Standard Action.

Now, the character is only using two actions in a round, as he should.



Somebody explain to me how I'm wrong about this.
 
The basic question is: Is the act of readying an action a standard action, as the book says? Or is readying an action part of the action that is readied?

I don't think so because, it if was, readying an action would be a free action.
 
Back
Top