Just to clarify the Drahk Carrier doesn't have the carrier trait and therefore cannot scramble scramble?
Also if he launches a raider or scout he cannot do any SA's ?
Scramble Scramble does not require the carrier trait. Any ship with more than 1 flight can do it. Technically a ship with 1 flight can do it, so that they can launch their flight and re-dock another flight in the same turn.
Yes if you successfully perform an SA you cannot launch. If you fail the CQ check you can still launch.
to be honest, I don't have the rules here with me, but I thought any ship could try it, i've had Nova's do it to me, I've tried (and failed) with a g'quan! (but then i generally fail special actions)
Wouldn't mind if it said otherwise, but I just assumed it was the crew runnign around like flies getting everything done quicker than normal and throwing out an extra fighter?
No it doesnt. Nowhere in SFoS does it say you need the carrier trait. It does I believe refer to the carrier trait saying that the SA allows you to launch 1 aditional flight so a ship with carrier 2 can launch 3 etc. If it helps, think of all fighter carrying ships effectively having carrier 1.
I think youve got it right there, not sure as your wordig is a bit 'eh?'
However there IS an issue about whether huge hangars can benefit from the Scramble Scramble SA at all anyway as (and I could be wrong without the book to hand) but I think it specifically refers to AUXILLIARY CRAFT. Huge hangars, despite their similarities to aux craft rules, dont launch aux craft they launch SHIPS.
I guess if the D.carrier was carrier 2 it would allow all to deploy on an ok SA of SS in turn 1
w/o the carrier trait max out is 3 which if you can't do SS as a SA is reduced to 2..very poor
I guess logically I'd agree you don't need carrier as a trait for SA SS
I can't think of any other example of a carrier without the carrier trait..seems strange they left carrier off the stat line though...hence the question...
yep the hangers trait treats them as Aux flights thats fine
"No, it says the SA allows you to launch 2 flights, or Carrier+1 if you have the trait."
..as you say everone is treated as Carrier 1 if they carry a flight...which makes sense ...and why would you clutter the trait list by adding that to every ship that has one flight
cheers!
If a ship with 4 carried flights/raiders had Carrier 2, it could launch all of its flights on the first turn with a successful Scramble Scramble! roll. That kind of takes away the fun of having a carrier launch it flights over several turns. The naval carrier parallel would disappear as well.
true but using Scramble Scrample keeps the ship from using other Special Actions like Close Blastdoors and Activate Defencegrid, which is kind of nice if there is couple of Saggitarius frigates broadsiding it.
This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.