Hi, I am a Conan fan from Hungary. And i have some questions. And yes, it's about monster-grapple. I play with the second edition, so please answer according to the 2nd ed. rules.
If a monster with Improved Grab gets a hold on a character, when can the monster use its special attacks (constrict, crush, etc.)? I think, on its next turn.
But in the Bestiary there are some monsters with a "then". For example the Ape (p. 128-129): "Improved Grab: To use this ability, the ape must hit with a claw attack. If it gets hold on the target succesfully, it can then crush."
So what does "then" mean in this situation?
1. Later, on its next turn.
2. In the same turn, immediately after it gets a hold. (claw attack - succesful grapple check - crush)
And if the right answer is the second, is it apply to every monster with Improved Grab or just to the monsters with "then"? (For example the Crawler Improved Grab text on page 19 is just: "To use this ability, the crawler must hit with its bite attack.")
And there is the scorpions on page 148. Its Imroved Grab text is clear enough. It can attack right away. But this animal is a special case, or this is what "then" (or every Improved Grab) means? And the scorpion text writes about AOO: "...It can then automatically choose to make a free constrict or sting attack against that target, suffering no attack of opportunity for doing so." Why this "suffering no AOO?" anyway? Why would its attack provoke an AOO?
And it seems that some monster is capable to gets a hold on multiple characters. (See shark on page 151.: "Chew: A shark can inflict bite damage on all victims held in its maw as a free action once per round."
So while a shark is grapple with someone, it can bite another character, use its Improved Grab and start a grapple with him too?
How do I know which monsters are capable of this "multi grab"? And how many characters have in its grab? I think the monsters with tentacles are capable of. But not every monster have such abilities, like chew. p. 46 Giant Octopus. Let's say it has one character in the grab of one of its tentacles. But there are "free" attackers. It must decide:
-use constrict on its victim OR
-attack another one with a tentacle to grab him too. Is this right?
And if a monster have more than one character in its grab, can it use the constrict to damage all or it must choose one?
If a monster with Improved Grab gets a hold on a character, when can the monster use its special attacks (constrict, crush, etc.)? I think, on its next turn.
But in the Bestiary there are some monsters with a "then". For example the Ape (p. 128-129): "Improved Grab: To use this ability, the ape must hit with a claw attack. If it gets hold on the target succesfully, it can then crush."
So what does "then" mean in this situation?
1. Later, on its next turn.
2. In the same turn, immediately after it gets a hold. (claw attack - succesful grapple check - crush)
And if the right answer is the second, is it apply to every monster with Improved Grab or just to the monsters with "then"? (For example the Crawler Improved Grab text on page 19 is just: "To use this ability, the crawler must hit with its bite attack.")
And there is the scorpions on page 148. Its Imroved Grab text is clear enough. It can attack right away. But this animal is a special case, or this is what "then" (or every Improved Grab) means? And the scorpion text writes about AOO: "...It can then automatically choose to make a free constrict or sting attack against that target, suffering no attack of opportunity for doing so." Why this "suffering no AOO?" anyway? Why would its attack provoke an AOO?
And it seems that some monster is capable to gets a hold on multiple characters. (See shark on page 151.: "Chew: A shark can inflict bite damage on all victims held in its maw as a free action once per round."
So while a shark is grapple with someone, it can bite another character, use its Improved Grab and start a grapple with him too?
How do I know which monsters are capable of this "multi grab"? And how many characters have in its grab? I think the monsters with tentacles are capable of. But not every monster have such abilities, like chew. p. 46 Giant Octopus. Let's say it has one character in the grab of one of its tentacles. But there are "free" attackers. It must decide:
-use constrict on its victim OR
-attack another one with a tentacle to grab him too. Is this right?
And if a monster have more than one character in its grab, can it use the constrict to damage all or it must choose one?