In response to the first question...
"Every model with a weapon can use it to attack any enemy
that it can see and is within range..."
From this one sentence, the single model that can see and be seen by the whole team can target the whole unit or be targeted by the whole unit. All models that don't have line of sight are not effected. Note that this is a big change from the original SST rules, one for the better IMO.
As for the second....
Let's see... The terrain only obscures the LOS, so only the Target score receives a bonus. Well, first you would have to roll, discarding the ones. Then you would assign the highest roll first, then the next highest. So 1s are out along with any rolls that equal the Kill. Hmmm...
Okay. Assuming that both of the models in this example are only equipped with assault rifles (meaning that they only do a single D6 worth of damage) then cover would be irrelevant. Given a choice of shooting at a target right in front of you or a target that is partially obscured, you logically would shot at the target in the open.
If one or both of them has a SAW of some kind (meaning that they roll multiple D6) then things could get a little trickier. I would say that the first die assigned to the target ignores the modifier, while any additional die would have to exceed the modified target value.
Not an official answer, but the most logical one that I can think of.
As for the suppression question, let's take another look at the rules...
"Roll Damage Dice for your entire unit. Discard all Damage Dice that roll a natural '1'. There represent missed shots or ammunition jams.
The highest scoring Damage Dice must be allocated to the nearest model within the Fire Zone, the next highest scoring Damage Dice to the next nearest model, and so on. If all models within the Fire Zone have been allocated a Damage Dice, then you are free to allocate any remaining Damage Dice to models as you see fit."
As you can see, all of the 1's are discarded and don't have any affect at all. The other die rolls are all assigned, regardless of whether they are able to damage the model or not. If you look at the Suppression rules, they say...
"If a unit is allocated at least as many damage dice in a single Shoot action as it had models then it will immediately lose its next action, and may only Move as a reaction."
So it doesn't matter if all of the damage dice actually do damage or not, only that they were assigned to the models in the target unit.
Hope this helps.
