Thought I'd open a thread for discussing the new rules.
I thought I'd ask about charges first.
No Point Blank Range for close combat. Models have to "touch". Good for basic rules, but I wonder if the advanced rules will bring back PBR?
The wording on the order of actions in close combat is a little fuzzy. Do you move all the models in the unit, then roll close combat? The wording says "If you succeed in touching an enemy model with one of your models, they immediately fight in close combat." So, if my marine charges and touches a model, do I roll dice then and then charge with the next marine. Or, do I move my marines, then see who is touching? I think it is the latter, but the wording is confusing to me.
Further, the wording for reactions is kind of fuzzy for reactions to charges too as it states "The model that was attacked, if it survives, may now react as normal." I am assuming that it means that it can react with its unit once the charging unit has charged.
I think what was intended is that charging units move, then you resolve any touching models. The reason I think this is that if you are charging into cover, the covered unit gets to react before you roll close-combat dice.
I thought I'd ask about charges first.
No Point Blank Range for close combat. Models have to "touch". Good for basic rules, but I wonder if the advanced rules will bring back PBR?
The wording on the order of actions in close combat is a little fuzzy. Do you move all the models in the unit, then roll close combat? The wording says "If you succeed in touching an enemy model with one of your models, they immediately fight in close combat." So, if my marine charges and touches a model, do I roll dice then and then charge with the next marine. Or, do I move my marines, then see who is touching? I think it is the latter, but the wording is confusing to me.
Further, the wording for reactions is kind of fuzzy for reactions to charges too as it states "The model that was attacked, if it survives, may now react as normal." I am assuming that it means that it can react with its unit once the charging unit has charged.
I think what was intended is that charging units move, then you resolve any touching models. The reason I think this is that if you are charging into cover, the covered unit gets to react before you roll close-combat dice.