Beam Weapons from a newbie

tschuma

Mongoose
All

I am a newbie to ACTA and I have a question about Beam Weapons. How do you determine if the beam is on target? Is it determined by the beam tracing a line across the base of the target or does it have to intersect the stem? I could not fnd this in the rules and I am putting on a game for my gaming group this weekend.

Thanks in advance.
 
Boresight might be what you are referring to. Boresight arc is the line directly in front of your ship. And I mean, directly. The arc is infinitely thin, so you have to be spot-on. Not that you have to always place the miniature directly on line, but you have to have enough positioning (turning, what-all) to be able to do it. You then declare that you have "boresighted" a ship, and, if it's done moving, you'll get to fire on it.

It might be a good time to remember the geometry axiom "Two points define a line...".

This method is referred to here as the "Gentleman's Agreement" method. You could rule that if something happens to be in the line (post-to-post --- the miniatire doesn't matter, only the post of the base does!), you can shoot it instead, but this often leads to disagreements of whether the target is in arc or not. It does, however, smack more of realism....

This is for boresighted systems. Beams, in and of themselves, have no special targetting rules. If you have arc to the post of the base, you can fire. F arc beams (like on the Centauri Primus) have a 90 degree arc of fire -- an often crucial advantage!

And, to clarify, as far as arc of fire goes --- the bases themselves are irrelevant. Only the post on the base matters.

Hope that clears it up, and good luck!
 
CZuschlag

You are correct, I meant Boresight. Thanks for the input. I am ure it will be put to use this weekend. Narns. vs Centauri.

Regards

tschuma
 
Out of interest, is boresight an exception to normal weapon arc rules? Normally, if an enemy is in your forward arc, your other weapons cannot come to bear on it. But does that mean if your target is in boresight, you cannot fire your forward arc (or aft, in the case of aft boresight?)

I ask because of the way it's worded in the revised rules, something along the lines of 'if your target is in one arc, it cannot be in another'
 
Alexb83 said:
other weapons cannot come to bear on it. But does that mean if your target is in boresight, you cannot fire your forward arc (or aft, in the case of aft boresight?)

Well boresight also happens to be in front arc so I don't see why front weapons couldn't be fired at the target.
 
The boresight arc is within the fore (or aft) arc of the ship, so fore (or aft) or turret arc weapons can shoot at a boresighted target.
 
As Silvereye mentions, some arcs do overlap.

Something that is in your forward boresight arc can also be fired upon by your Forward and Turret weapons

A target in your port arc can eb fired on by turret weapons. Same goes for starboard.

A target in your Boresight aft arc can ebf ired on by your turret and Aft weapons also.

LBH
 
Back
Top