Another Question for DM...

vitalis6969

Mongoose
From your advanced house rules:

Revised Damage
When rolling Damage Dice use the following system to determine damage and whether critical hits are caused:
• If the DD roll is less than the target's armor value - no damage scored
• if the DD roll is equal t the target's armor value - 1 point of damage scored, no chance of a critical
• If the DD roll exceeds the target's armor value - 1 point of damage scored, critical inflicted on second roll of 5+


All makes total sense to me, but the last point means that you need a weapon that has the AP trait to do a critical against a 6+ Armor ship... Oh man, my Kriegsmarine are bummin!!!!

I'm assuming I'm reading this right?

Thanks,

-V
 
Thanks for the reply to a stupid question and may the gods of battle smile upon my kriegsmarine and all their stupid 11 inch guns... :roll:

-V
 
Yeah, get a decent gun :)

The d6 based nature of VAS does impose some restrictions occasionally and this I guess is at least partially affected by that.

Don't forget long range plunging fire (which helps, unless there's an Armoured Deck in the way :D)

And also don't forget that this isn't cast in stone. If you want to change it then thats fine.
 
And also don't forget that this isn't cast in stone. If you want to change it then thats fine.

What! I dont have to rigidly stick to the rules as laid in stone and etched in brass, my world has gone to hell :lol:

Any more thoughts on carrier operations by the way Dave, you know that empty box for future thoughts?
 
The reason I've asked these questions is that I am deferring to your greater knowledge of naval battle rules. We chose VaS because of its quick play, but it is a bit too quick play, which is why I liked your rules a lot.

VaS is our first naval system we are playing, if this were a different type of wargame or a RPG, I wouldn't be bugging you so much as I have far more experience in them.

So if an 11" gun can't get a critical on a 6+ armor ship, then it can't I guess.. :D

I have been thinking of a slight change to your rule, keeping the natural six always has the potential of causing a crit, and then needing a 5+ to score the crit.

-V
 
Back
Top