All power to engines??

Kosh127

Mongoose
Ok so it says that if you go all power to engines you can not turn. However, there are many people that said you can if you have more thn one turn you jsut lose one. I can't find it anywhere. So if you have 2 turns and go APTE can you still make 1 turn???
 
Shadow Queen said:
No as its an action that states no turns.

As SQ says, you MAY NOT TURN when you use this SA, the same as All Stop.

ACTA Rules (P13) said:
No turns may be attempted.

There is only one occasion when you can turn using either the APTE or AS SAs and thats if you are in a planets gravity well, see the special rules regarding planets gravity wells (P22-23) to see how that works.
 
The one your probably thinking of is close blast doors, that special action says you LOSE ONE TURN and thus a ship with 2 turns CAN close blast doors and still make a single turn.

APTE though, as has been noted, states clearly, you MAY NOT TURN. At all. No matter how maneuverable you are. It's worth nothing that this applies even to super maneuverable ships like shadows (though they cant APTE anyway, they use their own special rules for fast movement) and Vree.

For example a vree ship that goes APTE must move directly forward and cannot turn at all even though it could normally turn at will.
 
Locutus9956 said:
It's worth nothing that this applies even to super maneuverable ships like shadows (though they cant APTE anyway, they use their own special rules for fast movement) and Vree.
Like you said Shadows can't APTE, and Vree are only SM when moving half speed... so this caveat is really unnecessary. ;)
 
aah but what is forward for a SM ship ;)
I have seen vree do CAF and move bakwards, they are not turning, they just happen to go in anyway they want as long as they face the same way. so a Vree ship could APTE away from you in reverse, as long as it doesnt turn.
 
Ah yes I forgot the half speed thing for Vree. Not sure this was always the case though was it? In any case in the unlikely even of there ever being a ship that CAN maneuver with SM rules at full speed it still couldnt turn and do APTE :P
 
katadder said:
so a Vree ship could APTE away from you in reverse, as long as it doesnt turn.

Actually Vree only get to use SM under half speed. So if they APTE they are not going less than half speed.

The Dark Knife could though.
 
katadder said:
aah but what is forward for a SM ship ;)
SM ships still have a "front". Forward would be, in the direction that the front is facing.
katadder said:
I have seen vree do CAF and move bakwards, they are not turning, they just happen to go in anyway they want as long as they face the same way. so a Vree ship could APTE away from you in reverse, as long as it doesnt turn.
I thought this was clarified? SM ships can only CAF if they move forwards? Maybe I read it wrong or imagined it but I thought this was said. In Armageddon maybe, I'm AFB (Away From Books) ATM.
 
The way we have always read it ships that use a SA that allows them no turns can't turn, wether they are SM or not. They can only move in a straight line forward. (Unless they are in a planets gravity field in which case they don't turn, the planet turns them if you see my meaning)

Just because you use the CAF SA and move straight forward (in the dirrection the ship was facing before the start of movement) doesn't mean you have to fire out of any arc, it just means that all weapons that are fired have to be targetted the named ship.... If its in port arc then all port arc weapons and turret weapons can fire, if its in fore BS the the Fore BS and all forward weapons and any turrets can all fire at the ship as long they have range.

We also say that a ship has CAF and energy mines then the energy mines must be fired so the center point of their blast zone is the target ship, and no they don't get the re-rolls because it states that in the rules.
 
SM ships can move in any direction though, they dont have to move in the direction they are facing.
so as long as they stay facing the same direction then i dont see the problem, as they are not then making any turns.
a Vree ship can in fact CAF whilst not moving at all.
 
katadder said:
SM ships can move in any direction though, they dont have to move in the direction they are facing.
so as long as they stay facing the same direction then i dont see the problem, as they are not then making any turns.
a Vree ship can in fact CAF whilst not moving at all.

Not sure about that, it has to move at least half its movement score (if it doesn't take the All Stop SA, which means it can't take a 2nd one unless it has a special captain or something). If it chooses to fly SM then it still has to move at least 1/4 of its movement score. As it can't turn (as per the CAF SA rules) this has to be all in one direction straight forwards. I would actually say it shouldn't even be allowed to go SM and use the CAF SA.
 
if going less than half speed it can SM, so its fine to CAF and SM.

APTE doesnt say has to be forward, it says that you gain 50% to ur speed but cant turn.

CAFs only restriction is no turns.

as long as the SM ship keeps facing the same way it has followed these restrictions.

and under SM ships in moving ships SM ships can move in any direction the player wishes making as many turns as it likes. well obviously if using the above SAs it cant turn but can still use the move in any direction as long as facing stays the same.
 
katadder said:
and under SM ships in moving ships SM ships can move in any direction the player wishes making as many turns as it likes. well obviously if using the above SAs it cant turn but can still use the move in any direction as long as facing stays the same.

How can it go in any direction (even in the same facing) if it CAN NOT turn.

I see how it can be read that way, but to me it goes completely against the spirt of the special action rule, as well as the words can not turn.

As far as I am aware the Special action rules over-ride everything else. It even says when you can get 2 SA in a turn that they can't be mutually exclusive, such as use CAF and Come About. So why should SM break this?
 
because it says when moving SM ships they can move in any direction. it just moves sideways or whatever. things dont always have to forwards to move.

you still have to obey the limitations on the SA, so you could move sideways but still have to face the direction you were originally facing.
 
As I said it goes against the spirit as well as the words, how can a ship manouver sideways... by using very powerful directional thrusters, how does a ship turn, by using directional thrusters.

By your logic the Vree would be unable to move forwards and turn using their directional thrusters normaly, but they would be able to go SM and be able to scoot half their speed sideways using those same thrusters at a higher power setting?

Yes I see your reading of the rules, it just don't make no sense to me and goes completely against the spirit of the rules imho. :)
 
why does it? theres absolutely no reason a ship cant suddenly buzz sideways if its supposed to be SM. and the rules back it up. or even no reason they cant stop if SM.
they don't contradict any of the limitations imposed by APTE or CAF so tehre no reason why they cant.
 
Vree can only use SM if they move half their speed or less. In what way can this be combined with APTE? They are mutually exclusive. If it moves more than half its Speed score, it can't use SM.
 
Back
Top