ACTA: Slow loading and stealth

Burger

Cosmic Mongoose
I have a Sagittarius. In its Starboard arc there is a Torotha and a Tinashi loming down on me. I split my 6 AD of missiles equally between the two of them, in order to maximize chances of beating stealth.

I fail the stealth roll against the Torotha, but pass it against the Tinashi. 3 AD fire, and hit the Tinashi whereas the other 3 AD are unable to fire because I failed my stealth roll against the Torotha.

What happens now?

1) The weapon counts as having fired and cannot be fired next turn, because it passed stealth against the Tinashi
2) The weapon doesn't count as having fired and can be fired next turn, because it failed stealth against the Torotha
3) Keep track of individual ADs: I can fire 3 ADs next turn because 3 ADs failed their stealth against the Torotha
 
Every ruling I've heard on this is that if you have fired even part of your AD for a slow-loading weapon - it cannot be used the next turn. (Similar to taking a 2AD SL weapon and simply alternating 1AD fired - can't be done.)
 
It's my opinion that Option #1 would be the correct answer to this question.

My main reasoning for this, is that if you could split Dice like that, Then what would keep you from firing 5AD/1AD and missing the 1AD, then Firing 5AD/1AD next turn? This to me seems Way too over powered for weapons that are suppose to have a restriction on them.

Option #3 could be a decent fix, but way too much paperwork involved IMO.
 
Obviously this is where I stop being able to find information to back up my claim. I swear I read some rulings that if you fire some of the AD on a slow-loading weapon the next round the it's offline entirely. I'm going to fall back on the;
2nd Edition Rulebook said:
These weapons may only fire every other turn.
It isn't saying that it can only fire each AD every other turn, it's that the Weapon itself can only fire every other turn. Since the change in Stealth/Slow-Loading rules (no comment) effectively says that a missed stealth check is a non-fire, but you HAVE fired half at a different target, you've fired the weapon in that round and the next turn the weapon cannot fire.

That said.. MATT!!
 
Back
Top