ACTA Ship Stacking, badley worded or rule not required!

Grunvald

Mongoose
Ships may never be stacked on top of one another. If your movement ends ‘on top’ of another ship, simply place your ship as far as it may normally move without being stacked on another. Fighters however, may be placed on top of ship counters or bases, but never on top of other Fighters.

This is what is stated in the rule book, but what does "stacked" mean in ACTA?

Stacking usually means placing on item ontop of another item creating in effects a "stack"!

Now in ACTA you dont count the base size of ships for any purpose at all!!

Everything is done from ship "stem"!

Yet now when i am moving a ship and when positioning it, if its base is "overlapping" another ships base i cant place it here, Why?

All the base of the ship is there for is to keep the model from falling over!!

With ppl now making there own Ship design models and placing fighters onto different style bases, why is this rule still in here, it bears no signifficance on the game at all!!

In effect if i want to base all of my ships on dinner plates i can and that means you "Can NOT" place your ship anywhere on my new base!!!

So i'm asking is it miss worded (meaning you can overlap)

Or a rule that is just no longer required?
 
Where does it say that you do???

All i find references for and what everyone seems to be quoting is stem not base! (not counting fighters!)
 
I thought it was used for ramming and some fighter interactions (stealth).

It is not an oversight... it is intentional that ship bases cannot stack. In part this is a nice rule for tourneys where folks may not be so nice to your models, but there was pretty extensive discussions about base size being an issue and the mongoose folks defended their position. Just saying not the first time this has come up, but much was lost in the Purge of xxxx. (Wish I remembered when that was... be more fun to refer to it.)

Ripple
 
Fine ship bases cannot stack

BUT overlapping a base is not stacking!!!

Stack:
An orderly pile, especially one arranged in layers.
To arrange in a stack; pile.

if you are overlapping bases you are not stacking!!!

And being as there is no legal requirment on what size base to ship.....

So is it poorly worded!!!

Or something that shouldn't be there!
 
OK fine, it's poorly worded, whatever. No base overlapping of capital ships is allowed, that is the rule. If you want to debate its relevance or if it is not needed or if it should be changed or just rant about its annoyingness or inconsistency then the ACTA forum is the place, not Rulesmasters.
 
OK but i was asking for a ruleing but will start it in ACTA forum then, was not ranting!!!! was just pointing out!
 
Back
Top