ACTA:SF for dummies?!?!

MarkDawg

Mongoose
So I just got the rule book and as I read it I am having trouble assimilating the information. So any of that feel the same please post your dumb questions in this thread hopefully some non dummies can help us out. So I will kick it off with Dumb question #1

1. I am overwhelmed buy all of the modifiers in the weapon profiles lets use this one.

Weapon: Phaser-1 Range 18" AD 2 Special Accurate +2 Kill Zone 8 Precise

So lets say I am 8" away from the target in my arch what happens here?
 
MarkDawg said:
So I just got the rule book and as I read it I am having trouble assimilating the information. So any of that feel the same please post your dumb questions in this thread hopefully some non dummies can help us out. So I will kick it off with Dumb question #1

1. I am overwhelmed buy all of the modifiers in the weapon profiles lets use this one.

Weapon: Phaser-1 Range 18" AD 2 Special Accurate +2 Kill Zone 8 Precise

So lets say I am 8" away from the target in my arch what happens here?

From what I glean from the book, this:
You have 2 Phaser-1s, each rolls one D6 to hit. Normally you roll a 4-6 is a hit. The Accurate +2 means you need a 2-6 to hit. If you cause damage to the hull, you add one to the damage table (the Precise trait), thereby increasing your chances of a critical hit from 1 in 6 to 2 in 6.

Killzone 8 means that within 8 inches, each phaser rolls 2 dice instead of one.
 
It could do with more examples of play for folk new to the ACTA system. Apologies if I over-explain some of it, just being thorough.

Dumb Answer 1) You roll 2D6 (2 AD) with +2 to hit (Accurate +2). Each successful roll causes 2 hits (Kill Zone 8 gives Multihit 2 under 8") and any hits getting past the target's shields adds 1 to each die roll on the Attack Table (Precise).
 
MarkDawg said:
So I just got the rule book and as I read it I am having trouble assimilating the information. So any of that feel the same please post your dumb questions in this thread hopefully some non dummies can help us out. So I will kick it off with Dumb question #1

1. I am overwhelmed buy all of the modifiers in the weapon profiles lets use this one.

Weapon: Phaser-1 Range 18" AD 2 Special Accurate +2 Kill Zone 8 Precise

So lets say I am 8" away from the target in my arch what happens here?

Kill Zone X is explained in page 15 of the rulebook.
 
billclo said:
MarkDawg said:
So I just got the rule book and as I read it I am having trouble assimilating the information. So any of that feel the same please post your dumb questions in this thread hopefully some non dummies can help us out. So I will kick it off with Dumb question #1

1. I am overwhelmed buy all of the modifiers in the weapon profiles lets use this one.

Weapon: Phaser-1 Range 18" AD 2 Special Accurate +2 Kill Zone 8 Precise

So lets say I am 8" away from the target in my arch what happens here?

From what I glean from the book, this:
You have 2 Phaser-1s, each rolls one D6 to hit. Normally you roll a 4-6 is a hit. The Accurate +2 means you need a 2-6 to hit. If you cause damage to the hull, you add one to the damage table (the Precise trait), thereby increasing your chances of a critical hit from 1 in 6 to 2 in 6.

Killzone 8 means that within 8 inches, each phaser rolls 2 dice instead of one.

sorry, but you don't roll additional dice, each hit just inflicts an additional point of damage.
 
@Totenkopf I realize that it's in the book and what page it's on but I am having trouble how all of these things work together.

So from what I read here I would roll my 2 attack die and on a roll of 4+ but since I have the accurate rule I need a 2+ and with Killzone I would get double damage on all successful hits?
 
MarkDawg said:
@Totenkopf I realize that it's in the book and what page it's on but I am having trouble how all of these things work together.

So from what I read here I would roll my 2 attack die and on a roll of 4+ but since I have the accurate rule I need a 2+ and with Killzone I would get double damage on all successful hits?

correct
 
billclo said:
Totenkopf said:
sorry, but you don't roll additional dice, each hit just inflicts an additional point of damage.

My bad, thanks for correcting me. :)

don't worry, I'm still getting some of the finer points of this myself...for example how cloaking works when a cloaked ship is being shot at.
 
The multihit trait has me a little confused, too. The way I'm playing it is:
First roll AD with any modifiers, then any success is a hit to the shields, but any 6 gets rerolled on the attack table. With the Multihit 2 trait, any successful hit does 2 points of damage to the shields and any 6 gets two dice rolled on the attack table.
Does this sound right?
 
arabuck said:
The multihit trait has me a little confused, too. The way I'm playing it is:
First roll AD with any modifiers, then any success is a hit to the shields, but any 6 gets rerolled on the attack table. With the Multihit 2 trait, any successful hit does 2 points of damage to the shields and any 6 gets two dice rolled on the attack table.
Does this sound right?

Yes, that's correct. Note that only a natural 6 on the to-hit leaks through the shields, not a modified 6 after the +2 for Accurate. And of course, if the target shields are down, everything goes to the attack table, with a +1 for Precise.
 
starbreaker said:
arabuck said:
The multihit trait has me a little confused, too. The way I'm playing it is:
First roll AD with any modifiers, then any success is a hit to the shields, but any 6 gets rerolled on the attack table. With the Multihit 2 trait, any successful hit does 2 points of damage to the shields and any 6 gets two dice rolled on the attack table.
Does this sound right?

Yes, that's correct. Note that only a natural 6 on the to-hit leaks through the shields, not a modified 6 after the +2 for Accurate. And of course, if the target shields are down, everything goes to the attack table, with a +1 for Precise.

my reading means that weapons with the Precise trait will always damage an unarmored target when rolling on the attack table since it ignores the 1 result, is that correct?
 
Totenkopf said:
starbreaker said:
arabuck said:
The multihit trait has me a little confused, too. The way I'm playing it is:
First roll AD with any modifiers, then any success is a hit to the shields, but any 6 gets rerolled on the attack table. With the Multihit 2 trait, any successful hit does 2 points of damage to the shields and any 6 gets two dice rolled on the attack table.
Does this sound right?

Yes, that's correct. Note that only a natural 6 on the to-hit leaks through the shields, not a modified 6 after the +2 for Accurate. And of course, if the target shields are down, everything goes to the attack table, with a +1 for Precise.

my reading means that weapons with the Precise trait will always damage an unarmored target when rolling on the attack table since it ignores the 1 result, is that correct?

Also correct, yes. The 1 becomes a 2 and does damage.
 
Note that only a natural 6 on the to-hit leaks through the shields, not a modified 6 after the +2 for Accurate.
Cool. that was soemthing I was going to ask about. I had assumed that it was a natural six only, but the rulebook did not spell that out for Dummies. ;-)
 
Totenkopf said:
my reading means that weapons with the Precise trait will always damage an unarmored target when rolling on the attack table since it ignores the 1 result, is that correct?

Like was stated Precise causes a phaser to always cause a damage point but it also means a 5 becomes a critical hit.
 
Not to add more confusion, but don't forget the Armoured trait.
The +1 from precise still doesn't cause a damaging hit on a roll of 1 (modified to a 2 due to +1 from precise)
 
scoutdad said:
Not to add more confusion, but don't forget the Armoured trait.
The +1 from precise still doesn't cause a damaging hit on a roll of 1 (modified to a 2 due to +1 from precise)

Is that in the rulebook or is that going to be in the errata?

Edit: Nevermind. I misinterpreted you.
 
Garydee said:
scoutdad said:
Not to add more confusion, but don't forget the Armoured trait.
The +1 from precise still doesn't cause a damaging hit on a roll of 1 (modified to a 2 due to +1 from precise)

Is that in the rulebook or is that going to be in the errata?

the Armoured trait does make it so that instead of scoring a bulkhead hit on a result of 1, you score a bulkhead hit on a score of 1 and 2. Therefore a precise weapon will score a hit on a roll of 2 (bumped to a result of 3), and non-precise weapons will only score a hit on a roll of 3.
 
When you fire any weapon, a natural roll of "6" ignores the shields and rolls on the damage table directly. If you roll, say, a "4" and the +2 accuracy makes that a "6", it just hits shields as normal.
 
Back
Top