ACTA - Ionic Pulse Emines and Skindancing

thehod

Mongoose
Can a Narn ship hit a ship that is performing skindancing with an emine since its area of effect and accoring to the rules, subsequently cancel the skindancing special action.


Example: Whitestar performs skindancing on the GQuan as its action and now the GQuan decided to fire the ionic blast emines point blank hitting itself and the whitestar that is skindancing.


Is that legal?
 
I think it would be, if emines are able to be fired at a point in space and do not have to have a ship as a target. The Narn cruiser could not target itself and it could not target the skindancing craft.

I've never seen Narns in play, so I don't know about the targeting open space bit without my rule book.
 
you can target an area of space to get both yourself and the WS, however skin dancing is not counted as a special action so would not be cancelled by Ionics.
 
Skin dancing white stars are put in base contact. In fact they have to be in base contact, to perform skin dancing.

katadder is correct, it is not a special action.

(Edited to make me not be wrong :lol: )
 
actually unlike scout it doesnt say you cant perform any SAs the turn you skindance. so if someone is straight ahead of you in theory you could skin dance and CAF.
 
I was under the impression that you could not fire on your own ships... Using e-mines to get an effect similar to something expressly forbidden seems a bit wrong.

SERGE
 
you dont fire the e-mines on ur own ships though, you just happen to be caught in the blast. if i remember rightly this is being clarified next ed anyway.
 
Having used the skindancing rules for WS, I've discovered that they are far too important to the ISA fleet to risk skindancing unless you absolutely have to, failing the CQ check results in an obliterated WS.

Nials however are a much healthier option I feel; so if I were playing as the narn, I'd be less worried about a WS on skindancing as you ordinarily might think, a reasonable chance of blowing itself up is entirely possible.

I could be wrong though i suppose.
 
Back
Top