ACTA - Crits and SAs

Alexb83

Mongoose
Question arising from a little demo on vassal today - if a ship has an SA in effect during a turn, (for instance close all blast doors!) then takes a critical that denies SAs, does their current SA stop working immediately, or does the critical simply stop them from performing SAs in the next turn (or until repaired)?
 
Alexb83 said:
Question arising from a little demo on vassal today - if a ship has an SA in effect during a turn, (for instance close all blast doors!) then takes a critical that denies SAs, does their current SA stop working immediately, or does the critical simply stop them from performing SAs in the next turn (or until repaired)?
Previous rulings from Matt have stated that the SA is lost imediately. However, booth good and bad effects are lost - so, if you had a Concentrate All Fire! SA up, and lost it, you couldn't reroll misses against your chosen target, but could fire against other ships.

Wulf
 
That's a bit annoying, so a ship with blast doors! doesn't get a chance to avoid any damage if it takes that sort of crit?
 
Ahh so i remember right.

Same with the -1AD crit and the like.

Great continuity, i like it.

Just to use this opportunity to praise MGP a bit ^^.
 
Actually I am not sure that is correct Greg.

Since the effects are applied immeadately would it not go the moment the No SA crit was done, ie subsequently rolled crits from the same weapon would not be affected by the CBD.

Ripple
 
Ripple said:
Since the effects are applied immeadately would it not go the moment the No SA crit was done, ie subsequently rolled crits from the same weapon would not be affected by the CBD.
As all dice for the same weapon system are rolled at the same time, all effects are, similarly, considered the same action. Unless you roll each AD one at a time, to hit, to damage, to crit, this is only fair. Otherwise, you would have applied (and CBD!-ed) all non-critical damage before even rolling for crits (unless you play far differently from us).

Wulf
 
I think I had a tentative sequence of play item (now deleted from Rulemasters ... doh!) that I had to change precisely to accomodate this ruling.
 
Guess to some degree I find it odd. We have no problem rolling each weapon in sequence (hardly show doctrine - 'throw everything we have at them I believe was the line-) but we do have an issue with one crit at a time.

Okay, was fairly certain the ruling had gone the other way, but no way to check right now. We always do roll crits one at a time but if the effects don't 'land' until we are done that's fine. Fairly sure this is the only SA where it matters.

Ripple
 
Back
Top