2300AD Star List/Map question

worjtrav

Mongoose
Hello,

I'm new to 2300AD and am about (well, 2 weeks off) to run my first game. I'm trying to get a feel for how far space goes. OK - that was loaded. Specifically, I "get" the three human arms and the various alien spaces that butt against them but it's not clear to me what is out there between the human arms and beside/beyond the alien realms.

That is, is the near star list (and this is NOT a question about its current accuracy or lack thereof, of that list) a list of ALL stars (as known back when Traveller 2300 originally came out) within 50 or so light years of Earth? Or is it a list of stars that can be gotten to, one way or another, via stutterwarp?

I've been reading 2320 and various articles online about tugs and brown dwarves, and Anders Sandberg has put online several 2320 maps with entire clusters, both embedded in near space and in further-out space, that considerably increase the accessable star list.

I understand that the accessable stars are the important ones i.e. we simply can't (via stutterwarp) get to the others, but I'm curious what the near star list (or even the extended 2320 star lists) would look like if all stars were shown (assuming, perhaps mistakenly, that they're not).

Any suggestions/thoughts are welcome.

Tx!

- Bill Rutherford

PS: I hope I'm posting in the right place; the 2300AD forum seems all about non-2300AD games, not sure why...

Right place. 2300 is a Traveller mechanic based system so under the Traveller banner. The list in the back of the book does fill 14 pages for something like 500 systems so I think it's fairly representative for the volume of space. Lots of worlds are focused on and many, many more exist for filling in. They are there, getting to them might be the adventure. I think it was grand someone gave up a normal life to produce such an extensive list.