Zamorian Thievery

sanseveria

Mongoose
I am a Conan fan, espescially recently, but I'm still new to the World of Hyboria, espescially as a campaign world. My question is this, there's a Zamorian thief in my party, and he's asking if there are any organizations like thieves guilds or gangs or whatnot in the county. (he hopes to use them as an allegiance of some sort). I got no problem making a guild of some sort up, but if there already something out there, I'd like to read it, including any opinions all of you may have.

Thanks,
SS

It's possible there would be small gangs of thieves with better organization than street thugs, but there are no large, well-established "guilds" like you'd find in D&D.

A thief's first (and often only) loyalty is to himself. Your player might have running buddies, but he should know that they'll all abandon him in a second if they can profit by it or escape the headsman's axe.

It's not likely. According to a letter Robert E. Howard wrote, Zamora is an absolute despotism where differing political opinions were not tolerated. Thus such an organisation might be seen as a threat to the king, and destroyed.

At best you might see small gangs, I would think. Howard's thieves tended to operate as individuals or in small groups. Certainly Conan never seemed to get in trouble with local thieves guilds. Although you will see rogues' alliances and small gangs, I doubt the king of Zamora would allow anything to get more organised than that - and he has spies everywhere as despots often do.

An L Sprague De Camp novel makes mention of the Zamorian High Guild, but no details are given. I am no fan of de Camp's writings in general, but I do have a criminal organization of sorts in Arenjun.

The Mongoose book states that thieves have yet to organize into any cohesive guild, so it would seem that individual thieves run rampant throughout the Maul, perhaps joining together in bands of a dozen or so.