When do Shadows Repair Criticals

Hi all! So thats the question. Our group is reading it different ways. My gut tells me its the turn after like all other ships but we wanted to make sure.

From Page 173 of the Fleet Book: "Shadow vessels take damage as normal but critical hits are automatically repaired in the End Phase of the turn after which they are inflicted. Critical hits to Vital Systems are also repaired at this time."

Does this mean that it happens in the end phase of the same turn or the one after (like normal ships?). Any offical clarification would be great.

For more info, I have posted this under a thread called "When do Shadows repair criticals" in the ACTA forum and it was suggested I post here.

Thanks!
 
you pretty much answered it within your question - it says the end phase of the turn after, therefore its the turn after recieving it.
 
katadder said:
you pretty much answered it within your question - it says the end phase of the turn after, therefore its the turn after recieving it.

I totally agree. Its just that we have another interpretation within our group that says the "automatically repaired in the End Phase of the turn after which they are inflicted" means that:
Turn 1 Attack Phase: Shadow Ship suffers Critical
Turn 1 End Phase: Shadow ship repairs critical since its the End Phase of the Turn and its after they recieved it (recieved it in Attack Phase and now its the End Phase)

Im really not sure why I am putting all this effort into since its not even my fleet :roll: . This will be my last post and I will let my gaming buddy finish it off he disagrees anymore. :lol:

Thanks to all that have responded!!
 
No, gramatically it is still confusing. You could read it as,

The same turns end phase, after which the criticals were inflicted

or

"The next turns end phase after they were inflicted."

I suspect the correct ruling would be worded like this: "The criticals are repaired in the end phase of the next turn", but the current wording is unclear.
 
zulu01 said:
No, gramatically it is still confusing. You could read it as,

The same turns end phase, after which the criticals were inflicted

or

"The next turns end phase after they were inflicted."

I suspect the correct ruling would be worded like this: "The criticals are repaired in the end phase of the next turn", but the current wording is unclear.

Unclear? Maybe, but unless Katadder get over ruled by Matt his answers are official.

Unless there are other more qualified rulesmasters or a hierachy I am unaware of.

And if you are still wanting something more offical conatact Matt Sprange.
 
I didn't realize that a playtester was authorized to make official rules interpretations. Interesting, because there are several current threads where playtesters seem to disagree...

However, I am fine going with Katadder's ruling.
 
zulu01 said:
I didn't realize that a playtester was authorized to make official rules interpretations. Interesting, because there are several current threads where playtesters seem to disagree...

However, I am fine going with Katadder's ruling.

Yippee!!! :lol:
 
zulu01 said:
I didn't realize that a playtester was authorized to make official rules interpretations.

Anyone can answer a rulesmaster question, someone from Mongoose steps in if there is no conclusive answer.
 
Back
Top