[WaW] Turrets and co-axial

Rabidchild

Mongoose
Just wanted to mention that, in a game last night it really hit me how much of a difference there is between tanks and self-propelled guns. (Also, I love the re-roll for moving as it encourages tactics other than pop-out attacks, but that's something else.)

In the game, a StugIII and a Sherman(76) were trading shots, the Stug takes a chance for a side shot on the Sherman and rolls an 8, rerolled to a 1 because it moved. On the US turn, the Sherman rotates its turret and fires at +4 (D10+3, +1 for co-ax) and annihilates the Stug. If the rolls had been reversed the Stug would have had to move to bring its gun to bear and not received the extra +1 from the co-ax.

It's the little things like this that bring me to this game. BF:Evo generally works within its own rules, rather than making a bunch of exceptions for each unit like some (*cough40kcough*) games. This leads to intuitive and smooth games, rather than wondering which unit's rules override the other's. (Even the moving Wirbelwind is self explanitory: you re-roll all the dice that missed because it has the Accurate trait, and all the dice that hit because it is a vehicle that moved. :) )
 
Rabidchild said:
BF:Evo generally works within its own rules, rather than making a bunch of exceptions for each unit

Actually, BF Evo is a game built on exceptions - we just hide them (they are called traits :)).
 
msprange said:
Actually, BF Evo is a game built on exceptions - we just hide them (they are called traits :)).
[spin]See how well they are hidden to fool a veteran gamer like me, good job![/spin] :oops: :wink:

The bit about turrets still stands.
 
Nonetheless the point still stands; traits are a number of pre-defined common special rules (if that's not a bit of an oxymoron) bundled together in a lot of different combinations rather than having a new rule for each unit.

The upshot of which is that once you get used to what traits do what, any new tank, destroyer, powered suit or starship's statline instantly makes sense and you don't need an accompanying page of waffling to figure out how to use it.

It works very well, and you can quite quickly put a lot of uniqe character into something with odd combinations.
 
So, if a vehicle rotates in place, it still counts as movement? Meaning, you'd have to take a move action to rotate?

Don't have my book with me at the moment, or I'd just look it up.
 
Did we ever get a response about c-axial MG's?

When firing a co-ax along with the main gun:

a) Does this count as one of the tanks allowed 'Multifire' shots, i.e. the tank cannot fire its Hull MG if it has Multifire/2.

b) Does the MG still get to roll its damage dice or does it just add the +1 to main gun.
 
hithero said:
When firing a co-ax along with the main gun:

a) Does this count as one of the tanks allowed 'Multifire' shots, i.e. the tank cannot fire its Hull MG if it has Multifire/2.

b) Does the MG still get to roll its damage dice or does it just add the +1 to main gun.

Hey there,

A. No.

B. Just add the +1.
 
Lol, quote from last year, when the game was in development and Co-Axial was still a weapon trait:
"6.5.5 Co-Axial
To improve target acquisition and the chance to hit, MGs on vehicles were often mounted co-axial to a main gun. A Co-Axial MG is always facing in the same direction as the main gun. As soon as a target is within range of the co-axial mounted MG you may add +1 to all Damage rolls of the main gun. If you use the MG in this manner you do not roll the Damage Dice of the MG."

sometimes you go full circle... :wink:
 
But the ability says that as soon as you place a FZ within range of the main gun, the main gun gets a +1. I don't see the rule saying anything about actually shooting the MG or the +1 meaning it cannot shoot.

To be clear, could I fire the co-axial MG if I wanted to, providing the vehicle has multifire/2? (ie the target is a soft skinned vehicle and so both the gun and MG could hurt it but it's not in the arc of the hull mg. Could I fire the main gun at +1 because it's FZ is in range of the co-ax MG, and still fire the co-ax MG and hope to roll a few sixes?)
 
If you have a spare Multifire, yes, though it is not mandatory to get the +1.

Oh and yes, turning a vehicle counts as moving (you moved it!). Big bonus for turreted vehicles. . .
 
Thanks for the replies Matt, I think this has been cleared up. As for moving, that was the second half of my original post above, if the StugIII and Sherman had been in each other's positions, the Stug not only wouldn't have gotten the +1 for the co-ax, it would have been re-rolling hits due to turning :!:
I'm glad to see a game where turrets finally matter, thanks Matt and Agis. 8)
 
Back
Top