VAS:Does damage effect turning?

assume you have a speed 6 ship
assume it is crippled (reducing speed to 3)
assume you have a turbine damaged crit (movement -1)

so now your movement is effectively 2.

to turn do you have to move at least half of your move stat, in this case 3 which it cannot do or do you have to move half of your current maximum possible speed which in this case max speed would be 2?
 
No, they turn exactly the same (unless the rudder is damaged).

Example: My speed 6 cruiser is undamaged and moves 6". It can execute a turn after 3". In the next turn I want to move it 4", so it can execute a turn after 2".
 
Hi

Let me get this right (as it means I have been doing it wrong Doh!!!)

When you say a ship can make a turn after completing half its move, its half the move it is making that turn, so If I have a ship of movement 6inches but I only move 3inches I can basicly move 1.5inches and initiate a turn? its not half the movement of the ship (in this case 3 inches) before I can turn.

Is this the same in ATAC as well?

Thanks
Ostmann :wink:
 
No, you must move half of your ship's current maximum movement before making a turn.

Example if your ship's movement is 6", you can only turn after 3". Even if you choose to only move 4", you can still only turn after moving 3".

If you take a -2 speed crit your speed is now 4", so you can turn after 2". If you decide to only move 3", you can still only turn after 2".

So yes... ships with speed crits have smaller turning circles than those without ;)
 
As I've posted elsewhere I believe the current explanation to be wrong and that minimum distance to turn shoudl be based on CURRENT speed (i.e. how far the ship is moving THIS TURN) rather than its maximum speed.

I am currently trying to confirm this with Mongoose HQ.

Using this interpretation is closer to reality. Basing it solely on maximum speed flies in the face of reality (and would mean, for example, that HMS HOOD would have been incapable of sailing out of any RN naval base!)
 
The wording of the rules says "...it can only do so when it has moved half its Speed..." (note Capitalization) which implies to me that it must move half of its current speed score before being allowed to turn. Not half of the movement it is choosing to make this turn.

This would tie in with how ACTA works.
 
May well be so but as DM says it makes no sense in reality. In ACtA it can be explained as part of the abstracted way it represents newtonian movement in space.

Plus why should there have to be a tie in between the rules? VaS is based on ACtA but isn't representing the same environment.

I have noticed a number of people seem to have been caught out be rules which have changed slightly in VaS from ACtA. Seems its a bad idea to assume because something worked one way in ACtA that it will work the same in VaS.


Nick
 
The same thing happens in the community of players who play DBA, DBM and HoTT - they are similar but not the same, and a lot of confusion can arise from people assuming the mechanics of one incarnation map exactly onto the others.
 
Since when did games have anything to do with reality :P

I'm just interpreting the rules, as written, not assuming they are the same.
It says "half its Speed". Not "half its movement this turn". To me that implies it must move half of its current speed rating.
 
all,
can anyone tell us if an official answer is being looked into on this question or are we going to have to go with the interpretation of the week?

how is it going to be played in the mongoose tournament?

same question on radar. any upcoming clarification?
 
I wasn't specifically talking about you Burger, they were other people who were confused by other rules.

Looks like they should do what you did here, read the VaS rules carefully and make an interpretation from that, rather than trying to apply ACtA thinking (which seemed to be the route cause of their confusion)...


Nick
 
Reading the battle report in S&P 41, at one point a ship moves it's minimum of 1" and turn, although I don't think it was damaged. I could be wrong.

Nezeray
anxiously waiting for the official answer. So *I* know what to rule in tournaments.
 
Yes but in the same BattleReport ships appeared to be firing their AA wepaons out of sequence and torpedoes were hitting out of sequence.

I know it is probably just the narrative style of the report, but it should not be read as gospel considering they even admit in the report that they forgot rules during the heat of battle.
 
did we ever get an answer on this?
i saw a thread where Matt sstated hes collecting X fleet which i would lead me to believe that hes playing the game so how does he handle this in his games?

Msprange... are you reading this?
 
yeah you'd think so huh.
i guess theyre saving all of the answers for the FAQ theyre writing.

maybe theyll even let us see it someday.

i know i know theyre swamped, theyve got other things going on blha blha blah...

funny thing is i see a lot of BF EVO questions getting answered... go figure...
 
I guess I'll just assume that the turn is made mid-movement until someone tells me otherwise. Turning mid-movement, in effect, scales the diameter of the turning circle to speed. That seems the most logical thing to do.
 
Back
Top