Here's a situation. Say you're fielding enough points to have two Brain Bugs each with Enhanced Shield as a psychic talent. The shield effect has a radius. So say you stick both these Brain Bugs together on a large enough tunnel asset like Bug Central that would provide a cover bonus and let's say both are snuggled together for a meeting of the minds and both use Enhanced Shield, the radius of each* covering both Brains.
*Unfortunately I don't have the Shield rules in front of me but if it implicitly states it can't be overlapped with another shield, assume then that the second shield is raised after the first goes down.
In the above example the Brain Bugs get the cover bonus and can presumably absorb 12 hits. After the first 6 hits Brain Bug #1 takes a hit, after the second 6 hits are absorbed Brain Bug #2 takes a hit. That still leaves the Brain Bugs with 7 hits each if they didn't save and are on a Bug Central that they can duck into as a single tunnel marker if they form a swarm, or separately if there are enough tunnel markers.
How does that sound?
*Unfortunately I don't have the Shield rules in front of me but if it implicitly states it can't be overlapped with another shield, assume then that the second shield is raised after the first goes down.
In the above example the Brain Bugs get the cover bonus and can presumably absorb 12 hits. After the first 6 hits Brain Bug #1 takes a hit, after the second 6 hits are absorbed Brain Bug #2 takes a hit. That still leaves the Brain Bugs with 7 hits each if they didn't save and are on a Bug Central that they can duck into as a single tunnel marker if they form a swarm, or separately if there are enough tunnel markers.
How does that sound?