Threatened Squares

Dwarin

Mongoose
Reading the Second Edition, I have one question: Let's suppose two fighters are trading blows. If Fighter A uses regular movement to move from his position to another square that is still being threated by Fighter B, does he trigger an attack of oportunity?
 
If Fighter B leaves a threatened square with movement other than a 5' step, the provokes an AoO.

Remember, though, that we're limited to one AoO per round unless we have the Combat Reflexes Feat.
 
That was not really my question. My question was: if Fighter A leaves a threatened square around Fighter B but enters another threatened square (around Fighter B again), does he trigger an attack of oportunity?
 
Dwarin said:
That was not really my question. My question was: if Fighter A leaves a threatened square around Fighter B but enters another threatened square (around Fighter B again), does he trigger an attack of oportunity?
If he moves more than one square, yes, as S4 said (you are leaving a threatened square and moving within a threatened area.)
 
123
4F5
678

The Fighter threatens the 8 squares around him (it would be more squares if he had a reach weapon).

Let's say that the Fighter moves to engage a foe, and that foe is in space 2. If the foe moves into space 3 or space 1 (moving from one threatened square to another threatened square), the foe draws an Attack of Opportunity. If the foe moves backwards "above" space 2, or diagonal to the spaces above 1 or 3, he also draws an Attack of Opportunity.

The rule is: Any time a foe leaves a single threatened square, no matter if it is to another threatened square or to a square that is not threatened, the foe draws an Attack of Opportunity for each threatened square he leaves.

The way around this rule is to use the Five Foot Step rule (you do not draw an AoO if you only move one square), or to use the Withdraw maneuver.

You may find this helpful: Attacks of Opportunity



123
4F5
678

If the Fighter is combating a foe in space 2, and another foe runs past the Fighter, entering from above space 3, to space 5, to space 8, then exiting below 8, that second running foe draws three Attacks of Opportunity.

He draws one as he leaves Space 3....as he leaves Space 5...as he leaves Space 8.

But, unless the Fighter in the center has the Combat Reflexes Feat and a high DEX, the Fighter can only take one of those opportunities to attack the other running foe.



If, on the other hand, the same situation occurs, but the new running foe is actually moving each round in Five Foot steps, then the other foe does not draw AoO's. So, if the second foe enters space 3 and stops. Then, on the next round, uses a Five Foot step to move to Space 5. And on the next round uses a Five Foot step to enter Space 8. Then, on the next round, uses a Five Foot Step to leave Space 8, that second foe will draw no additional freebie attacks.
 
Back
Top