The joy of destroyers

Poi

Mongoose
6 destroyers steaming straight towards enemy cruiser squadron. Nothing can hit them. They come alongside and unleash hell.

Heart ripped from cruiser formation with single torpedo salvo.

You gotta love destroyer squadrons.
 
Hammer of Ulric said:
How? IJN destroyers' torpedos are one shot, like everyone elses.

Fubuki-class DD's are One Shot.
Kagero-class DD's (and presumably the later follow-on classes of fleet DD's) have reloads and are Slow Loading.

You're preaching to the choir: the near-invulnerability of DD's at night was one of the first problems our group found in our first game.
 
I met this last week with even just regular cruisers going at flank speed and then need a 7 to be hit (hit 5+, long or extreme range).

A few people have suggested the old GW rules where a second die is rolled if you need to hit a 7+ and you roll a 6 with your first die. I think the second one needed a 4+ to hit a 7, 5+ for an 8 and 6 for a 9.

Has anyone tried that? Does it unbalance the game?
 
Hammer of Ulric said:
How? IJN destroyers' torpedos are one shot, like everyone elses.

As Fitz said - the Kagero - I found out quite by accident running my first game....I thought ooh good torp destroyer for the blockade run. It fired and sunk one enemy and I crossed the torps off and the player asked 'if they load slow how fast do I get them back'.....suddenly said destroyer looked scary
 
A few people have suggested the old GW rules where a second die is rolled if you need to hit a 7+ and you roll a 6 with your first die. I think the second one needed a 4+ to hit a 7, 5+ for an 8 and 6 for a 9.

Has anyone tried that? Does it unbalance the game?

We play with this house rule and it works out just fine!

Actually considering another house rule that was suggested here that 2ndary weapons ignore the "target moving fast" penalty due to their ability to traverse faster than primary turrets.
 
A few people have suggested the old GW rules where a second die is rolled if you need to hit a 7+ and you roll a 6 with your first die. I think the second one needed a 4+ to hit a 7, 5+ for an 8 and 6 for a 9.

LOL, Wargames Research Group used something like this (if not this exact rule) well before GW even existed :) I think I first came across it in their 1950-1985 micro armour rules (which, as an aside, were streets ahead of their "second edition" and are still a cracking set of 1:1 armour rules!)
 
Oh my, WRG moderns....June 1979 is the date on my copy...

They used a similar rule - but if you needed more than 6 then you rolled, anything but a 4 missed. A 4 allowed a second roll of the dice to be added to the first dice to give a scale up to 10.
 
The 'infinite' torpedoes of the IJN really makes my skin crawl. Yes, they had reloads. No, they didn't reload them in battle situations. Nor, did they have more than ONE reload available at any given time. (Two at the outside). Personally, I feel that for any battle, a given IJN ship has ONE shot with their torpedoes. In our upcoming campaign, we are going to allow reloading ships to 'reload' between battles, without having to go to port- its an 'operational' advantage, and not a tactical one.

Darilian
 
thats the way we have been doing it at my LGS Darilian. the only thing that has slow reloads with us are Subs.....and we are looking at changing that as well.....
 
We haven't played enough submarine against convoy battles yet, so that issue hasn't come up yet, steelwhip. I'd be on the fence- at least a submarine has horizontal reloading- vs. the IJN's VERTICAL (use a crane, lift them up, drop them down) reloads :shock:. However, you're probably right- it would make Subs more likely to 'stick around' longer than they should. Haven't tried it yet though, need to do so.

I do know that in the many games of IJN vs. USN we've played, those infinite Long Lances have almost broken the game. :cry:

Darilian
 
Gents,

Could some one confirm (with a rules reference if one exists) that targets that accumulate a 7 or more to hit actually can't be fired at in the turn ie they are invulnerable?

We have been playing that a 6 is always a hit regardless of 'to hit' numbers beyond 6.

Which is the correct way.

Cheers

HappyW
 
Darilian said:
We haven't played enough submarine against convoy battles yet, so that issue hasn't come up yet, steelwhip. I'd be on the fence- at least a submarine has horizontal reloading- vs. the IJN's VERTICAL (use a crane, lift them up, drop them down) reloads :shock:. However, you're probably right- it would make Subs more likely to 'stick around' longer than they should. Haven't tried it yet though, need to do so.

I do know that in the many games of IJN vs. USN we've played, those infinite Long Lances have almost broken the game. :cry:

Darilian

we have been thinking of extending the reload times to 2 turns instead of 1 turn for Subs...our resident bubble head (4 years in the Navy all on sub duty) says that it may be more in line....we havnt doen enough with subs yet as well....so were still looking at it
 
The 'infinite' torpedoes of the IJN really makes my skin crawl.

Its simple enough to say "one reload only"

Yes, they had reloads. No, they didn't reload them in battle situations.

Yes they did. Its well documented.
 
Darilian said:
The 'infinite' torpedoes of the IJN really makes my skin crawl. Yes, they had reloads. No, they didn't reload them in battle situations.
They did you know. A major advantage, especially with Long Lance

Wulf
 
Makes a stand off battle line of cruisers and/or Kagero DDs very nasty. You daren't move in for the kill. At least they'll be showing their beam to your long range guns.
 
Happy_Wanderer said:
Could some one confirm (with a rules reference if one exists) that targets that accumulate a 7 or more to hit actually can't be fired at in the turn ie they are invulnerable?

We have been playing that a 6 is always a hit regardless of 'to hit' numbers beyond 6.

Page 7, Firing:
"A 1 is always considered to be a miss. However a natural 6 is not always considered a hit".

So by the rules if you need to roll a 7 to hit (say 5+ to hit, -1 for speed, -1 for range) then you can't do it.
 
Back
Top