Splitting fire

spellscape

Mongoose
Hi all
In rules there stated that I can do this with multiple AD. What is this and who got this? Is this means that ship will have "canon" with AD 2/2 like this?
 
A ship weapons can be split to targets in that arc eg
6 AD weapon in the fwd arc can split it's dice anyway it like eg 6 targets at 1AD or 4AD at one 2 at another.
Weapons that can't be split are
E-mines all the dice must rolled to targets under the template 3" no bombarding the whole table with 1 AD.
Beams can spilt if another target is within 2"
 
Did we ever get an official ruling on that...the daisy chain vs little template for beam splitting?

Ripple
 
I don't know if we got an official ruling but common sense dictates daisy chaining a beam split it just wrong.

A beam can't split between 2 targets 5" apart, but if there is another target mid-way between them then suddenly it can? Its daft.
 
Logic (and the wording of the rules) would suggest you pick a target and can only slplit beams to other targets within 4" of the original target. You can only sweep a beam so far in a given turn!
 
Locutus9956 said:
Logic (and the wording of the rules) would suggest you pick a target and can only slplit beams to other targets within 4" of the original target. You can only sweep a beam so far in a given turn!
Well not really... that means you could choose 2 targets which are 4" either side of the original, thereby splitting between 2 targets that are 8" apart. If the original target weren't there, you wouldn't be able to do this; so why should the presence of a centre ship allow it?
 
true enoguh. Perhaps the best thing would be to just say that beams can split onto any number of targets that you can draw a circle of 4" diameter around :P
 
A) I am always hesitant to apply logic...dangerous stuff that, never know what it will do...

B) Wording was a bit iffy...really not hard to find multiple interpretations as you two just found out.

Was just hoping we had gotten a couple few examples of what we could officially do and what we officially could not do. That is usually a better question to ask a designer...'what, specifically, were you intending to stop me from doing by adding this rule?' After you get the answer, run off and re-write rule for clarity in local group.

Ripple
 
Burger said:
Yeah, thats what we use, a 4" circular template.
But even then, in theory you could rake your beam over dozens of inches within that template if you had enough targets :?
 
Triggy said:
Burger said:
Yeah, thats what we use, a 4" circular template.
But even then, in theory you could rake your beam over dozens of inches within that template if you had enough targets :?
Pedant :P
Well the 4" thing is a bit strange anyway, since 4" is a much bigger angle to sweep through when at short range, than at long.
 
Minbori.

Well the 4" thing is a bit strange anyway, since 4" is a much bigger angle to sweep through when at short range, than at long.

To be honest, no way of doing it is ideal without getting into maths rather more complex than I want to deal with mid-game. Also note that none of the beam's power is lost whilst sweeping from one target to the next!
 
Back
Top