Spirit Magic

Loz said:
Its unopposed.

This is strange - I'd read it as an opposed roll as (pg 144) in the 2nd para "the spell must overcome the persistence of the guardian spirit....if the spell overcomes the spirit, it continues onto the spirit magician, who may then also resist the spell."

So, it sounded to me as if the Guardian Spirit literally places itself between the spell and the spirit magician - requiring all incoming spells to beat its persistence in order to take effect.

Antalon
 
I'll let Pete provide the ultimate clarification. I'm currently sitting in an airport terminal with no rulebook and only my general recollection of the rules to rely upon...
 
Loz said:
I'll let Pete provide the ultimate clarification. I'm currently sitting in an airport terminal with no rulebook and only my general recollection of the rules to rely upon...
You'll have to forgive Loz's first answer, since he based it on a conversation we had when I hadn't seen the original post. So its my fault, apologies for any confusion created.

To see if the Guardian Spirit stops the spell, the casting roll should be matched against the Persistence of the spirit in an opposed test.

If you want, you could allow it to be unopposed, but this will mean the spirit will almost always successfully stop a spell when its Persistence reaches 100%+, making it act more like Divine or Sorcery magic. If this fits your game then go with it.
 
Thank you Pete. Could you clarify me this previous doubt?

I do not know if a shaman should spend 1 MP to release a spirit from a fetish, another one to obtain its power, and finally another one to recall the spirit back to its binding :?: And how many CA must he spend to do that.
 
My view -

A) 1 CA to call forth a spirit from its binding
B) A free action, using Spirit Binding, to succesfully command the spirit, each attempt costing 1 MP.
C) 1 CA to recall a spirit into its fetish - no Spirit Binding skill check required or the expenditure of a MP.

Antalon.
 
Back
Top