Culture-pig
Mongoose
Hi folks,
I've been looking at trading after the character in my solo campaign has acquired a fat trader. But I'm rather confused over the modifiers for price under speculative trade.
The rules (both core and Merchant Prince) state that you roll 3D6 adding skills etc. then adding purchase DM's and subtracting Sale DM's.
It's not clear to me whether both Purchase and Sale DM's are derived from the current planet (where the goods are being purchased) or Purchase DM from current planet and Sale DM from destination planet.
Irrespective of the answer, I don't really inderstand the rationale for applying purchase and sale modifiers to the purchase price. Why have both when you're only doing one thing - purchasing or selling ?
Similarly it is not clear whether the intention is for a negative Sale DM to have a negative effect. By that I mean, for one pairing of planets I've been looking at, there is a +2 modifier for the trade classification of the current (purchase) world and a -3 modifier for the trade classification of the destination (sale) world. Now, as the rules are written, subtracting -3 from the running total, will result in that total increase that total by 3 i.e. a combined purchase/sale DM of +5 (if I remember my maths correctly). This works for me, as it will make negative modifiers in the sale DM column have a positive impact upon the ultimate purchase price, hopefully leading to greater profit.
However, I'm not sure this is the intention of a negative modifier.
Can anyone shed some light on this for me please ?
Thanks
Martin.
I've been looking at trading after the character in my solo campaign has acquired a fat trader. But I'm rather confused over the modifiers for price under speculative trade.
The rules (both core and Merchant Prince) state that you roll 3D6 adding skills etc. then adding purchase DM's and subtracting Sale DM's.
It's not clear to me whether both Purchase and Sale DM's are derived from the current planet (where the goods are being purchased) or Purchase DM from current planet and Sale DM from destination planet.
Irrespective of the answer, I don't really inderstand the rationale for applying purchase and sale modifiers to the purchase price. Why have both when you're only doing one thing - purchasing or selling ?
Similarly it is not clear whether the intention is for a negative Sale DM to have a negative effect. By that I mean, for one pairing of planets I've been looking at, there is a +2 modifier for the trade classification of the current (purchase) world and a -3 modifier for the trade classification of the destination (sale) world. Now, as the rules are written, subtracting -3 from the running total, will result in that total increase that total by 3 i.e. a combined purchase/sale DM of +5 (if I remember my maths correctly). This works for me, as it will make negative modifiers in the sale DM column have a positive impact upon the ultimate purchase price, hopefully leading to greater profit.
However, I'm not sure this is the intention of a negative modifier.
Can anyone shed some light on this for me please ?
Thanks
Martin.