Space Combat CRB

RumRogue

Mongoose
I have been looking over the CRB and digging through the forums for several days now and my luck and/or skill at finding an answer has not been good.

As I look through the Space Combat section I am left with a puzzle.
Using turrets with multiple weapons. I understand that only one weapon type can be fired in unison. But how many actions/reactions does that turret have?
In other words, will a turret with multiple offensive and defensive weapons be able to act in both capacities?
I think the LBB core stated that each turret could only be used once in a turn, but 2e says nothing of this.

Since Point Defense and Disperse Sand are both reactions, does that mean the gunner/turret can fire more than once as a defender?
--Is point Defense one shot per salvo? or can you make take multiple shots per salvo? or can you only defend against one salvo per available turret?
--With Disperse Sand as a reaction is it limited to just one attack or can I target multiple attacks with separate Disperse actions?

EDIT: I am talking about the latest edition to come out this year. I assume we are calling it a 2nd edition?? Core Rule Book.
I do not have the new High Guard yet.
Thanks
 
Hello, which edition of the game are you talking about?

In MGT2 there is a sort of explanation on that topic.

Technically, a weapon can be used only once in a round. Either offensively or defensively. So if you have a turret with 3 weapons, you can use 1 for attack and 1 for reaction fire (defence).

--Is point Defense one shot per salvo? or can you make take multiple shots per salvo? or can you only defend against one salvo per available turret?
The text states a gunner can make a point defence check only once per round. So, yes - only one salvo per gunner (and turret) in 1 round.

--With Disperse Sand as a reaction is it limited to just one attack or can I target multiple attacks with separate Disperse actions?
I think it's only one attack, but it's not specifically stated. If we follow the other weapons' limitation, it should be able to fire only once per round as well.
 
I believe that you can do as many reactions as you want in a round unless the specific reaction says otherwise. Just remember that for each reaction you take you get a (cumulative) DM-1 to your next action.

For example, in personal combat, you can dodge as often as you like, but you'll be carrying forward that negative DM to your next action. Same with sand canisters: there is nothing that says you can't pop sand multiple times in a combat round. But there is such a restriction with using point-defense fire—which leads me to believe that weapons can only be fired once in a combat round.
 
And for a third opinion...
RumRogue said:
Since Point Defense and Disperse Sand are both reactions, does that mean the gunner/turret can fire more than once as a defender?
--Is point Defense one shot per salvo? or can you make take multiple shots per salvo? or can you only defend against one salvo per available turret?
--With Disperse Sand as a reaction is it limited to just one attack or can I target multiple attacks with separate Disperse actions?
Point Defence: You can fire each point defence turret once per round. That's it. You can fire several turrets at on a salvo, or spread out the fire among several salvoes, but each turret can only target a single salvo.

Sandcasters are technically not limited by anything but ammunition. I don't know of any general rule limiting actions. By RAW you can fire offensively or defensively, but sandcasters and missiles are not included in that.

A triple turret with a laser, a missile rack, and a sandcaster could technically:
1) fire the laser, either as an attack, or as point defence (as specified in Reaction Point Defence).
2) Launch a missile. (Technically not an attack, the attack happens when the missile reaches the target.)
3) Use Reaction Disperse Sand (possibly several times).


If we house-rule some common sense a turret can only be used once, so either 1, 2, or 3 (once), but that is not actually stated in the rules.


EldritchFire said:
I believe that you can do as many reactions as you want in a round unless the specific reaction says otherwise. Just remember that for each reaction you take you get a (cumulative) DM-1 to your next action.
I don't think that is part of the space combat rules.
 
The definition of Reactions (pg. 72):

"…a Traveller can perform an unlimited amount of Reactions in every combat round. However, every time a Traveller performs a Reaction, he will suffer DM-1 on his next set of actions."

The space combat section doesn't say this rule doesn't apply, so I assume it does.
 
EldritchFire said:
The space combat section doesn't say this rule doesn't apply, so I assume it does.
Ha, I have assumed the reverse, since there is no rule in the Space Combat chapter that says it, or any other part of the Personal Combat system, applies.

Well, until Matt or Andrew tells us otherwise, I guess we can continue with our assumptions.
 
Hey everybody, thanks for your input. You all have brought up great examples and valid points.

Arcador: I am talking about the new 2nd edition core rule book.

EldritchFire: I was looking at the cumulative Reaction DM as well. specifically for sandcasters and defensive fire from the same turrets.

AnotherDilbert: Great points. The house rule example is very nice for my numb brain. And Mongoose original black book said each turret could only be used once per turn.

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts and the great advice.
 
AnotherDilbert said:
EldritchFire said:
The space combat section doesn't say this rule doesn't apply, so I assume it does.
Ha, I have assumed the reverse, since there is no rule in the Space Combat chapter that says it, or any other part of the Personal Combat system, applies.

Well, until Matt or Andrew tells us otherwise, I guess we can continue with our assumptions.

As long as one of us is right, right? :p
 
Back
Top