Sorcery and range question

Deleriad

Mongoose
Simply: what happens to a spell with duration if the target of the spll moves out of range during the spell's duration?

I'm guessing that Range only refers to distance from which the spell can be cast but has no effect afterwards. E.g. If you cast Damage Boost 5 on a sword and give it to someone who runs off with it then the spell continues quite happily.

However: what about concentration spells? If the target moves out of range of the spell does this cause the spell to end? My instinct is to say that the spell ends in this case.

These questions probably also apply to other magic types.
 
WRT Dominate, the rules specifically state that the range is evaluated in Km rather than metres once the command has been issued, so it implicitly states that rang matters also after a spell has been cast. The point is that Duration spells can be voluntarily dismissed by the caster if he expends one combat action, so there is a form of link between a caster and his spells even in the case of passive spells - see RQ3 for the definition of passive, which is a term not used in MRQ.

Any idea from the writers?
 
My gut reaction is that a spell that is both requires concentration and is ranged would require the target to stay in range. The spellcasting is in effect continous.

A spell that does not require concentration, such as Haste, is a fire and forget spell, so the target could move out of range after it is cast (Haste 8 would be kinda pointless if you couldn't move more than POW meters from the caster).

That's what feels right to me.
 
Back
Top